Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
charm packs and patty cakes.. do you wash them before using? >

charm packs and patty cakes.. do you wash them before using?

charm packs and patty cakes.. do you wash them before using?

Old 09-03-2013, 03:51 AM

Default charm packs and patty cakes.. do you wash them before using?

I always wash my fabric before starting a project. I have never used charm packs or patty cakes before, but I have some ordered that are due to deliver today. Over the week end someone told me that I don't have to wash those. Is that correct? Do you guys wash your charm packs and patty cakes before you start a project with them or are they ok to use unwashed?
Old 09-03-2013, 03:56 AM

Location: Moved from Missouri to California June2013 have 1 son 2 daughters, all grown and 2 cats

I never wash, they would ravel too much, and actually I believe it is recommended they not be washed. I have not had a problem with warping or shrinkage.
Old 09-03-2013, 04:01 AM

I always prewash everything before using. Put them in the sink with a little Retayne to set the dye with water as hot as you can stand. Like colors together. Rinse until water is clear. I use a salad spinner to get out excess water then lay flat to dry. I am always amazed at which fabrics bleed and which don't.
Old 09-03-2013, 04:32 AM

The manufacturers recommend NOT washing them. I am a staunch pre washer of everything EXCEPT precuts!!! The possibility of fraying, shrinking and warping is not worth it.
Old 09-03-2013, 05:25 AM

I prewash yardage, but never precuts. Some do and say it works out, but really, it can (and most likely will) be a nightmare if you do. They fray, tangle, shrink, get wrinkled, etc., etc.