Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Satinedge Foot for 1/4 inch? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/satinedge-foot-1-4-inch-t28282.html)

gramfel 11-06-2009 08:09 PM

Does anyone use the Creative Foot called the Satinedge Foot for the 1/4inch seam on quilt pieces? I am just learning, so I know this topic has
been around and around, but I saw this foot, and it looked great, but it is expensive, too.
Thanks, Gramfel

gramfel 11-07-2009 05:37 AM

Well, life caught up with me somehow and kept me so busy for the past few months, I haven't done anything with the old quilt pieces - will try to pull them all out next week and "play" with them to see if there are enough for a project. I think my dd has some, too, but I am not sure.

My latest purchase has been a jellyroll (which I later read about and decided was too expensive to play with) so I am sewing the strips together to make squares and then use natural muslin between the squares (forgot the name of the pattern). If it turns out ok, I will post a picture later, but since I retired a few years ago, it takes me longer to learn or to accomplish my creative projects!!!
Thanks, Lulie

patricej 11-07-2009 05:43 AM

looks complicated. :shock:

sewjoyce 11-07-2009 06:19 AM

OK, what does a "satin edge" foot look like? :oops:

gramfel 11-07-2009 08:06 AM

It's just one of the 3 Creative Feet (See "Creative Feet" thru Google, and it will go to their website), and a friend has it on her machine she uses for all of her quilting. It has a white side that sticks out from the stainless foot and presses against the edge of the quilt square, so then the needle is just 1/4" away from the edge if you set your needle on the lefthand side.
It seems to guide a longer piece of the fabric through the machine.
Lulie

sewjoyce 11-07-2009 08:30 AM

Originally Posted by gramfel