Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Question about pantos >

Question about pantos

Question about pantos

Old 07-20-2011, 01:02 PM

My stupid question of the day - what is pantos and how are they used. I am getting a frame for my Viking Mega quilter soon and wonder if they are something I can use. Do I have to have any other special equipment? I am really new to FMQ.
Old 07-20-2011, 01:10 PM
Power Poster

you would need a laser light attached to the machine or the carriage for you to follow the panto design.
Old 07-20-2011, 01:46 PM
Power Poster

A panto, short for pantograph, is a pattern that lays on your table that you follow with a laser light to make a repeat pattern on your quilt. You follow the panto pattern and the machine sews the pattern into the quilt as you do this.

I don't know anything about the viking mega so I can't help with whether they are usable with your set up. I'm sure someone on the board will know.
peace :D
Old 07-20-2011, 03:33 PM

Take a look at my shortarm setup. I have a picture of how my pantograph system works. My shelf is over the top of my frame, but many have a shelf down behind the machine. Both types use a laser light as a stylus to follow the pattern.

Here's my posting:

http://www.quiltingboard.com/t-138660-1.htm

I find it a very effective and efficient way to do quilting motifs. Easy to follow and you get good coverage.
Old 07-20-2011, 03:39 PM

Great question! I find myself hesitant to use pantos with my LA just because I am not sure how, so thanks for asking. :thumbup:
Old 07-20-2011, 03:41 PM
Banned

I love doing pantographs -- they take a bit of practice to get good at them, but once you know a pattern well, you can do an entire quilt in fairly short order.
Old 07-20-2011, 04:14 PM

Originally Posted by rivka
I love doing pantographs -- they take a bit of practice to get good at them, but once you know a pattern well, you can do an entire quilt in fairly short order.