Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Thread: Question regarding Coats Transparent thread

I am still rather new to quilting and was trying to quilt a small project on my home machine. I wanted to use the transparent thread but when trying to thread my bobbin the thread keeps breaking. Is there something that I should be doing differently? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

I have heard that you need to adjust the tension to but I'm not sure if it's tighter or looser. You may want to play with it.

Quote Originally Posted by Leota
    I have heard that you need to adjust the tension to but I'm not sure if it's tighter or looser. You may want to play with it.
    I made my husband a shirt years ago with the transparent thread and he wouldn't wear it because it was like fish line, very picky. not certain if it still that way or not. I think you have to loosen the tension slightly so that ie doesn't stretch causing it to break.

Blog Entries
    Try using a needle with a larger eye and also, I wouldn't use it in the bobbin.

Thanks for all of your replies. What should I use in the bobbin if I am making reversible placemats?

You need to also be aware that you can't iron most transparent thread or they melt.

So in your opinions should I just suck it up and use cotton thread?

I use it in the top all the time, but not in the bobbin. I tried a couple of times and it was a mess. So I use cotton thread in the bobbin that matches the back of the quilt. But I have never made anything reversible before.

I have used it on the top but not the bobbin. I really find it a pain to work with so I try to stick with cotton.

I have used invisible thread on the bobbin. When filling the bobbin you do have to slow down the speed so that it doesn't stretch the thread.

Quote Originally Posted by dseale40