Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
transparent polyester thread? >

transparent polyester thread?

transparent polyester thread?

Old 01-29-2011, 08:19 AM

I just bought some Coats & Clark 100% polyester transparent thread. I'd like to use it for SID on a table topper that I posted yesterday. The topper is multi colors blacks, whites, red & orange fabrics and the topper is quite busy. So I thought that SID with clear thread quilting would not compete with the quilt. I've never used this before. Is this type of thread good to use for that? Or should I just use white in some areas & black in others? My stitches don't always stay in the ditch!!
Old 01-29-2011, 08:21 AM

that thread is perfect for what you're doing
Old 01-29-2011, 08:22 AM

Kathy, Thank you for your quick reply. I'll start quilting right now. Debbie

Originally Posted by kathy
that thread is perfect for what you're doing
Old 01-29-2011, 08:19 PM

Originally Posted by Debbie B
I just bought some Coats & Clark 100% polyester transparent thread. I'd like to use it for SID on a table topper that I posted yesterday. The topper is multi colors blacks, whites, red & orange fabrics and the topper is quite busy. So I thought that SID with clear thread quilting would not compete with the quilt. I've never used this before. Is this type of thread good to use for that? Or should I just use white in some areas & black in others? My stitches don't always stay in the ditch!!
I use transparent thread quite a lot; especially like the 'smoke' color. It seems to disappear on darker fabrics better. One recommendation---do not wind your bobbin too fast. It will stretch and cause problems, like popping a plastic bobbin. One bobbin will hold maybe twice as much transp thread as regular, so fill only 1/2 full. Otherwise, enjoy :lol:
Old 01-29-2011, 08:33 PM
Power Poster