Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Question on squaring >

Question on squaring

Question on squaring

Old 09-03-2015, 05:50 PM

Exclamation Question on squaring

Let me start by saying I'm a novice at quilting. Ok, now to my question, which may not seem silly after reading the first sentence.

I'm attempting to make a quilt from a layer cake. I pressed (well, I pressed much later in the process, before that I was ironing, didn't realize there was a difference) the seams to the side and made 7 rows of 6 blocks. I did use a 1/4" seam allowance, with some consistency, I won't lie that at times it got off track.

After joining all my blocks into rows, I joined the rows together. Some rows didn't want to line up (the squares didn't want to join at the seams). I did the best I could for that.

I did not press the squares before joining or use any starch or sizing.

Now that I have all the rows joined, I'm ready to add borders. When I lay the top out on the floor, it doesn't lay completely flat. There are waves in some of the blocks.

My question is this: did I miss a step? Are there things I should have done? How often is squaring done? Do you square rows before joining?

Because I work, going to a quilting class isn't an option - they are during the day. So my teachers are folks like you who post tutorials online and answer questions on blogs. Bless you for both!

Thanks in advance!
Old 09-03-2015, 06:04 PM

I always square each block before joining the rows. It usually works best if you being the squaring up with smallest block. And use those measurements. Not sure if adding borders to a wavy top will end up like you want. Hope someone has the answer for you. Do not give up okay

Judy in Phx AZ
Old 09-03-2015, 06:25 PM
Power Poster

Squaring the blocks up certainly helps. Starching fabric before cutting, starching as you sew and iron, and starching finished blocks all help to keep block edges from stretching and distorting from handling (and ironing).