Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Questions about setting up leaders on quilt frame >

Questions about setting up leaders on quilt frame

Questions about setting up leaders on quilt frame

Old 06-23-2014, 08:11 PM

Default Questions about setting up leaders on quilt frame

Hi Everyone,

Sorry about the barrage of questions the last few days. I'm a newbie trying to set up my quilting frame. I've been sewing for years, but this is proving to be a little bit of a process! Maybe I'm stuck in analysis paralysis.

I have a New Joy Gold Standard Frame. The YouTube videos I could find were all about Grace Frames, and mine is set up differently, so they don't really help much.

Four questions:
1. Should I invest in pre-marked leaders?
2. What's the best way to attach the leaders onto the rails and make sure they're straight/square?
3. How do I make sure that the centers on the leaders match from rail to rail? There are no markings on the rails.
4. Do any of you use the zipper method of attaching your quilts to the leaders? I used a longarm at my LQS a long time ago and spent a good part of the day getting poked like crazy.

Thanks again for all of your help, sorry for being such a bother. I did get my Janome 1600P QC today-- Wow! I love it already!

Anyway, thanks again!!!

Last edited by AllyStitches; 06-23-2014 at 08:13 PM. Reason: Apparently I can't count today.
Old 06-23-2014, 08:29 PM
Power Poster

1. I would say no. Often the markings are not all that accurate. What I would advise instead is to purchase woven ticking (the lines are actually woven into the fabric). I got some pretty pink at Beverly's online. Purchase enough for the width of your rails (mine are 10'); you should be able to cut all the leaders from that. Add on an extra foot, if you can afford it; the extra can be formed into very nice side tensioning devices. Here is a link to the ticking I purchased:
http://www.beverlys.com/james-thomps...paign=nextopia