Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Questions from my first quilt camp experience >

Questions from my first quilt camp experience

Questions from my first quilt camp experience

Old 09-24-2013, 05:17 AM

Default Questions from my first quilt camp experience

What's the best machine to take to a quilt camp or class? I have 2 Singers--a Touch & Sew 758 (my main machine) and a 401A. I grew up using a Singer so I'm most comfortable with them. I was intimidated by fellow quilters because I didn't have a "fancy" machine but when all I do is a straight stitch & reverse why do I need a computerized machine? I can adjust my stitch length and cut my own thread easily enough. Is having a needle up/down feature all that important? [HR][/HR] Most participants were great but a few seemed less than impressed with my stuff. I was apparently using the wrong thread and needle size! I've been quilting for almost 10 years and I'm a hand quilter ! I wanted to tell one particularly snooty woman that she wasn't a quilter but just a piecer. I did notice a couple of ladies with Featherweights and they were using Coats & Clark all purpose thread--is that allowed? [HR][/HR] Don't get me wrong, I intend to return next year but should I be looking for a different machine (or a different table partner?)
Old 09-24-2013, 05:21 AM

different table partner!
Old 09-24-2013, 05:24 AM
Power Poster

Oh dear, sounds like some machine and thread snobs. I do own a high end machine now but I have owned many Singers over the years. If the machine is working for you, don't let them intimidate you. I do think needle down is a key asset for Free Motion Quilting. It allows you to stop in the middle of a quilting design to reposition your hands without the quilt sandwich moving. If you don't FMQ, it isn't as critical.
Old 09-24-2013, 05:28 AM