Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Quilt Borders? >

Quilt Borders?

Quilt Borders?

Old 11-25-2008, 10:25 AM
  #1  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 33
Default

How do I border a quilt longer than 40"?? Obviously I have to piece to strips together but should the seam where they meet be in the center?
Jadynsmom724 is offline  
Old 11-25-2008, 10:28 AM
  #2  
Super Member
 
mamatobugboo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Maple Grove, MN (by way of GA, NC, PA, NC, AL!)
Posts: 1,548
Default

the seam can be wherever you want it to be! I have always pieced it where ever the fabric ends whether it ends up on the bottom, the top, the middle, etc. Have fun!
mamatobugboo is offline  
Old 11-25-2008, 11:52 AM
  #3  
Community Manager
 
PatriceJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA
Posts: 8,800
Default

i either position the connecting seam in the center of that side or i sew equal lengths of extension pieces of each end of the 44" strip and then center.

clear as mud? :lol:
PatriceJ is offline  
Old 11-25-2008, 12:16 PM
  #4  
Super Member
 
mary quite contrary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Georgia
Posts: 2,524
Default

I try to have the junction away from the corners.
mary quite contrary is offline  
Old 11-25-2008, 12:29 PM
  #5  
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: northern New England
Posts: 459
Default

I cut lengthwise strips, not crosswise. It's usually a fabric I have used elsewhere in the quilt and plan my cutting to allow for the long border strips.
nor'easter is offline  
Old 11-25-2008, 02:28 PM
  #6  
Super Member
 
Barbm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: blink and you've missed it
Posts: 2,562
Default

chuckle- I do both. Sometimes I cut lengthwise, sometimes use the width. At least I know both are good!
Barbm is offline  
Old 11-25-2008, 02:44 PM
  #7  
Super Member
 
lfw045's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Hopewell, VA (for the moment anyway)
Posts: 1,692
Default

http://www.quilterstv.com/?bcpid=133...s_&_techniques

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OkQjYVAgUGo

http://www.expertvillage.com/video/3...ng-borders.htm

Maybe that will give you some insight :D
lfw045 is offline  
Old 11-25-2008, 02:50 PM
  #8  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,962
Default

I have done it both ways, if it's a light fabric, I cut my borders lengthwise so I don't have a seam showing. If the border fabric is darker and has a print, I will cut the width of the fabric and I join the strips diagonally and make sure the seam is in the middle. :)
Shadow Dancer is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Rhonda K
Main
12
09-23-2019 05:00 AM
gingerd
Main
14
10-26-2018 07:54 AM
Grama Lehr
Pictures
41
04-08-2011 12:40 PM
craftybear
Links and Resources
8
02-18-2011 06:54 AM
bebe
Links and Resources
0
08-14-2008 07:51 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.