Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 10 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 247

Thread: Quilt Preview

  1. #1
    Super Member MommaDorian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Sully, Iowa
    Posts
    2,506
    Blog Entries
    2
    I wish there was a way to see what 12+ blocks of the same would look like together. I did a block yesterday that I'd like to make more of. But, the colors are a bit bold. I'd hate to make them all and then decide it was too much. kwim?

  2. #2
    Power Poster erstan947's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    12,168
    Blog Entries
    47
    Dare to be bold. I have been trying to break out of my plain vanilla world and add a little zip to my quilts:) Show us a photo of your block:)

  3. #3
    Super Member merry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Middle TN
    Posts
    1,630
    Have you looked at the Quilt Wizard? It might be a help.

  4. #4
    Super Member MommaDorian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Sully, Iowa
    Posts
    2,506
    Blog Entries
    2
    Here it is. It looks wider at the top because of the angle I took the picture. :)
    Attached Images Attached Images

  5. #5
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    1,635
    Blog Entries
    42
    Please finish this quilt just like it is.. It is beautiful. If you don't like it send it to me. Love to have it.

  6. #6
    Super Member Dina's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    5,047
    Wow, that is beautiful! I have no suggestions for you, but that is beautiful.

  7. #7
    Senior Member pdunn56's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Morris County, NJ
    Posts
    454
    I think its gorgeous!! there is a multiplying block tool called EZ View for just this purpose. Heres a link to one site that has it , good luck but I say GO FOR IT!!

    http://www.softexpressions.com/softw...ons/EZView.php

  8. #8
    MTS
    MTS is offline
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    4,301
    Print out color copies of that picture.

    I would print out smaller versions - like 4 to a page, cut them out and play with with them. That way you can see what secondary patterns might emerge.

  9. #9
    Senior Member pdunn56's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Morris County, NJ
    Posts
    454
    Quote Originally Posted by MTS
    Print out color copies of that picture.

    I would print out smaller versions - like 4 to a page, cut them out and play with with them. That way you can see what secondary patterns might emerge.
    thats a really great idea too :-)

  10. #10
    Super Member scrappy happy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    1,076
    that is so pretty , please go ahead and make it, it will be just great

  11. #11
    Super Member katier825's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    7,159
    Blog Entries
    3
    That is one of the prettiest blocks I've seen! Nice job. The color copies are a great idea!

  12. #12
    Power Poster BellaBoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Front row
    Posts
    14,661
    Blog Entries
    2
    Take a digital picture of the quilt and then in a word program place the block picture side by side to make quilt layout. You can put two small square mirrors together to make an image of four blocks together.

  13. #13
    Power Poster ann clare's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Navan. Co. Meath. Ireland
    Posts
    15,127
    I like it.

  14. #14
    Super Member jillaine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    California Girl exiled in DC
    Posts
    1,400
    Blog Entries
    1
    Photoshop, ladies... Here's what it's going to look like:
    Attached Images Attached Images

  15. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Oak Ridge,TN
    Posts
    840
    Blog Entries
    1
    I love this. I think it would make a beautiful quilt with only this block. Do you mind sharing what the name of this quilt is?

  16. #16
    Super Member Scissor Queen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Southwest Kansas
    Posts
    4,829
    That's a way cool block! The colors might be a bit bold but once you get the whole quilt finished the blue background will sort of calm it down.

  17. #17
    Super Member thepolyparrot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Mars
    Posts
    2,038
    Beautiful block! :)

    Here's sort of what it might look like in straight sets:
    Attached Images Attached Images

  18. #18
    Super Member jillaine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    California Girl exiled in DC
    Posts
    1,400
    Blog Entries
    1
    sorry... didn't line up "my" seams so well.... ;-)

  19. #19
    MTS
    MTS is offline
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    4,301
    OK, I chopped of all your points because it wasn't a straight on picture. It wasn't personal.:wink:

    The block by itself is stunning. The colors might be off on my import of the picture. But this is quick and dirty in EQ.

    Hmmm, so, en masse, that's a lot of that background fabric. Isn't that weird how that works, because the block doesn't seem overpowered by it.

    But you had a sense. :thumbup: :thumbup:

    A couple of thoughts (which you didn't ask for)...

    These are part of Carol Doak's 50 FabStars, right? Great book. If you noticed, some of blocks have a slash of fabric in the corners (diagononally). I don't have the book in front of me, or the software loaded to check.

    But, maybe, if you did that, perhaps with the white, you could diffuse the blue fabric a bit. It really only needs to be about 1/2" wide. But then you'd have to match it up when you sew the blocks/rows together.

    I'd try cutting up some thin strips and lay it out on your color copies.

    How's it look?

  20. #20
    MTS
    MTS is offline
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    4,301
    Wow, look how the different settings look!

    And it's really important how you end the block. On pollyparrot's blocks, I really see the blue fabric and it looks like there is a white pattern around it. You have to look deep into to see the stars.

    That is very cool.

    I like PollyParrot's the best - even though there is no star. Very cool setting.

  21. #21
    Super Member nursie76's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    North Central PA
    Posts
    5,633
    IMHO, I think that is an absolutely beautiful star block. I have that pattern book too and just love all the stars. I would like to see how it looked with some type of sashing between the blocks. If you picked just the right color, it would break up the blue and let each star block just shine.

  22. #22
    Senior Member pdunn56's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Morris County, NJ
    Posts
    454
    Jillaine, you are the best!! that looks awesome ;-)

  23. #23
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Arkansas by way of Mississippi
    Posts
    392
    Did any one ever say what the pattern is?

  24. #24
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    netherlands
    Posts
    854
    Quote Originally Posted by jillaine
    Photoshop, ladies... Here's what it's going to look like:
    I'm glad I read the whole thread first, I had already opened Paint Shop Pro . :lol:

  25. #25
    Super Member ChubbyBunny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    1,064
    Quote Originally Posted by MommaDorian
    Here it is. It looks wider at the top because of the angle I took the picture. :)
    WOW!!! That is amazing!!! Go ahead and make the quilt.:thumbup:

Page 1 of 10 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.