Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Quilting placemats....

Blog Entries

Question Quilting placemats....

Hi everyone,

i need some assistance. Lets keep in mind that I'm a complete newbie at this and I wish I knew the answer, but I just don't and today, I'm not so afraid to admit that! LOL. Yesterday was a different story! When doing the actual quilting part of placemats, do I quilt it with the backing on (not reversible) or with just the top and the batting? It's a gift and I want it to look nice, but I can't figure out which is "right". The placemats are patchwork with a border. I'd post a pic, but I can't figure out how to do that. LOL. I thought I did, but I don't see it.....anyway, any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks so much! Yeah, the picture worked!
    Attached Images Attached Images

Blog Entries
    Go ahead and quilt it with the backing on it. It doesn't matter if it is reversible or not! Beautiful fabrics!

Welcome to the board!
    No one has ever become poor by giving. - Anne Frank
    Darkness cannot drive out darkness; only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate; only love can do that. - Martin Luther King, Jr.

http://www.etsy.com/shop/TheQuiltedPig

You make a 'sandwich' of top, batting, and backing, and baste/glue/pin or whatever --thoroughly-- so it stays firmly together, and start quilting. (Binding comes after.) If you nose around the site, you'll find discussions of how to glue etc, and how to quilt by machine or hand. However, if you're going to use the pillowcase method instead of adding a separate binding or bringing the back around to the front, the order of events is a little different. Somebody here will contribute instructions, or you can PM me. ... nanibi

Blog Entries