Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Thread: Quilting the Sandwich Technique Question

Quilting the Sandwich Technique Question

Hey Folks!

I am adding a border to a quilt for the first time. I'm going to be doing a different quilting pattern on the main body of the quilt than I am on the border. Would you recommend that I stitch in the ditch around the main body of the quilt between the body and the border before quilting the main body?

That would seem to make the most sense to me, but sometimes the fabric crawls as you're quilting it. I'm afraid I might get wrinkles and puckers around the edges of the main body.

Thanks in advance for your input!
    Quilting noob here to learn!

Power Poster
    How are you basting your sandwich? If you are using fusible batting or 505, it shouldn’t move much. If you are using any other method, stitching between the body and the border will probably cause trouble for you. I always stitch from the center of the sandwich outwards so that any creeping of top or back goes to the edge. If you have already stitched the border then you may end up with a ridge of fabric there.

If I am quilting on a regular machine I start from the center and quilt out to the edges, I pin every 3-4" so the quilt top does not shift. Sometimes you do have to smooth out as you go, remove pins and smooth, re-pin if necessary. There are UTube videos, look at them. Practice, practice, practice.