Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 4 1 2 ... LastLast

Thread: Quilting & Sewing Tips

Blog Entries
    Hi,

I am a beginner quilter and thought this would be a fun thread to have on the board so we can share quilting and sewing tips.

Blog Entries
    I was hemming my hubby bib overalls. I used the rotary cutter and mat to cut them off by 3 inches was so much faster than using scissors.

Also while hemming them on machine I broke 2 needles. I was trying to figure out what I could use to store the broken needles until I got them to the trash.

I found this plastic needle case and works great to store in the sewing machine drawer.

Enjoy!

Plastic Needle case
    Name:  Attachment-39679.jpe
Views: 28
Size:  5.5 KB

Blog Entries
    Another cool thing to recycle to store your needles etc. in is a mentos chewing gum plastic case. Also can use it for a traveling sewing case to store your needles and thread that you use. This would be cute covered with fabric to make it more fashionable!

mentos case
    Name:  Attachment-39904.jpe
Views: 30
Size:  6.2 KB

Blog Entries
    Please other quilters reading this, please post your tips so we can all enjoy!

Karen

I use an old piece of batting to layout my blocks pieces before sewing them together. Keeps the pieces from blowing away...:)

I have a friend who is a dental assistant, she brought me a small sharps container, (dr offices use them to put used needles in). it is in my cubboard and all my used rotary blades, needles and pins go in it. I think it may last my lifetime:)

Blog Entries
    awesome tip, thanks for sharing

I use a pill bottle for used needles. I have a small bulletin board above my sewing desk for the current pattern I'm using and business cards from shops I've been to, pictures, a color wheel, conversion charts, etc.

Suz