Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
quilting >

quilting

quilting

Old 09-20-2010, 03:58 AM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Ramsgate. Kent England
Posts: 441
Default

I am making a lap quilt and using flannel for the backing. I am hand quilting and have to do it quickly. What do you think is the maximum distance apart that I can get away with quilting it. It will be used by an adult. Because of the speed involved it will be basic quilting.Thanks
loopywren is offline  
Old 09-20-2010, 04:00 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
momymom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 461
Default

Check the batting package. It will tell you how far apart you can quilt.
momymom is offline  
Old 09-20-2010, 04:17 AM
  #3  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Ramsgate. Kent England
Posts: 441
Default

Originally Posted by momymom
Check the batting package. It will tell you how far apart you can quilt.
Thanks but it doesn't have a batting I am using two layers of flannel, my daughter is unwell and would find a batting too hot.
loopywren is offline  
Old 09-20-2010, 04:28 AM
  #4  
Power Poster
 
erstan947's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 12,166
Default

I think whatever you feel confortable with.
erstan947 is offline  
Old 09-20-2010, 04:37 AM
  #5  
Super Member
 
clem55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Lexington,Kentucky
Posts: 6,163
Default

If you need to hurry, try tying it.
clem55 is offline  
Old 09-20-2010, 05:13 AM
  #6  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,142
Default

Most important- check the batting package to see how far apart they recommend!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
bigsister63 is offline  
Old 09-20-2010, 05:26 AM
  #7  
Super Member
 
gale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: North-Central Indiana
Posts: 4,802
Default

I don't think you need to worry about it-just quilt as far apart as you want. The quilting is to keep the batting from shifting and if you have no batting, there's no shifting.
gale is offline  
Old 09-20-2010, 06:52 AM
  #8  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Ramsgate. Kent England
Posts: 441
Default

I know this is going to sound silly. Do you tie it literally. that is do a few stitches and then tie it off. I have heard of it before but never seen it done.
loopywren is offline  
Old 09-20-2010, 06:56 AM
  #9  
Super Member
 
plainpat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Mid-West
Posts: 3,837
Default

I haven't tied, but in making quilts with flannel backing, no batting, I just did an X or what ever....in the center of each block. Worked up fast & nothing there to shift around. Flannel is very warm,batting wasn't needed.
plainpat is offline  
Old 09-20-2010, 07:11 AM
  #10  
Moderator
 
kathy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: on the Texas Coast
Posts: 4,020
Default

Originally Posted by loopywren
I know this is going to sound silly. Do you tie it literally. that is do a few stitches and then tie it off. I have heard of it before but never seen it done.
I use a crochet yarn, go down then up, about 1/4" apartcut the threads about 2-3 inches and tie 2 good tight knots, move to the next chosen spot and do it again untill you have what you feel is enough.and it's NOT silly, how you gonna know if you don't ask?
kathy is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
frannymac
Main
33
09-27-2009 09:59 AM
xapisgrace
Main
17
07-14-2009 06:24 PM
gracie_r
Main
17
09-02-2008 07:37 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.