Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
quilting and thread bunching >

quilting and thread bunching

quilting and thread bunching

Old 01-11-2016, 02:58 PM

Default quilting and thread bunching

Hi. I'm new to quilting. I just started quilting the layers of a project. I am using one color thread on top and different on the bottom. My thread on the bottom is bunching and pulling through on top layer. I am using default settings for the stitch width. Do you ever need to change that? Or is it likely due to improper bobbin threading or tension? How do you know what tension to use? Thanks.
From - a newby.
Old 01-11-2016, 03:23 PM
Power Poster

​The first thing I do when switching from regular sewing to quilting is lengthen my stitch length. Take a picture of your settings before moving them and try reducing your top tension a bit first. If that doesn't help, try increasing your bobbin tension by turning the screw on the bobbin case in tiny increments. You can turn the settings back for regular sewing by reviewing your pictures after you are done quilting.
Balancing stitches with two different colours of thread is tricky. Trial and error on practice swatches is how I do it before working on my quilt.
Old 01-11-2016, 03:39 PM
Power Poster

Hi welcome to the board. In one way, it's nice that you are using different colors of thread for the top and bobbin. It makes it easier to diagnose the problem. Rule of thumb is if the problem is on the top (bobbin thread on top) your issue is with the bobbin. If the mess is on the bottom (top thread nests on bottom), your upper tension is off.
Having said that it is extremely difficult to balance top and bottom thread, so most people use the same color in both.
Now to your problem. Excess bobbin thread is showing on the top, correct? The first thing to try is clean your bobbin area thoroughly. Take off the foot plate. Get your manual out if you don't know how. Wind a fresh bobbin and make sure you are inserting it correctly.