Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Quilting through poofs - help >

Quilting through poofs - help

Quilting through poofs - help

Old 02-26-2020, 07:14 AM

Default Quilting through poofs - help

Fellow Quilters,
I am a novice and took on a double wedding ring way before I had the know how to do so, I finished the top, but all of the negative spaces in the centers are full of poofs, the fabric won't lay flat because my curves were off. I am going to try to machine quilt it, and wanting to have medallions in the centers of those spaces, I was wondering if it would be best if I tried to smooth the poofs to the sides and frame the edges of the rings, tucking the wrinkles in there or if I should just try to quilt letting them buckle where they may. I do not want to tear out any stitching and restitch. Sadly it was meant to be a gift for a couple who divorced 6 months after the wedding, so it is tainted and cannot be re-gifted, so I just want to get the darn thing finished. How do you all deal with buckling in a quilt? Or should I just toss it? lol. I don't want to do that.
Old 02-26-2020, 07:21 AM
Power Poster

maybe rethink the design and keep the puffs a bit. I'm thinking sort of like smocking or definite pleats. not trying to hide the extra fabric but making it work for you.
In future, when doing curves, always match centers and edges and then gently sew making sure fabric is flat as you go.
Old 02-26-2020, 07:22 AM

Use wool batting. It will help take up some of the extra fabric.
Old 02-26-2020, 07:23 AM

My remedy for poofs is spray starch. Spray the area and steam it with your iron held just above it. Sometimes this is enough to “shrink” it back into shape. If this does not work I would still quilt it and just remember all the hard work you put into it. Good luck with the quilt
Old 02-26-2020, 07:25 AM

There are quilts where we just repeat to ourselves "it will quilt its way out" and you can accomplish a lot by the stitching down.