Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Quilting without batting?? >

Quilting without batting??

Quilting without batting??

Old 06-01-2013, 03:47 PM
  #1  
IQ2
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: NY
Posts: 301
Default Quilting without batting??

I've added borders to a l'il twister table runner and I'm planning to back it without batting. I know that I should top stitch around the outer edge of the runner, but should I also add stitching (like quilting) to the body of the runner to keep the top and backing together?
IQ2 is offline  
Old 06-01-2013, 03:49 PM
  #2  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Rapid City, SD
Posts: 4,961
Default

Any stitching you do really won't do more than anchor the quilt as it will need the batting to give it definition. You might try making a few tacking stitches over the top.
Nammie to 7 is offline  
Old 06-01-2013, 03:59 PM
  #3  
IQ2
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: NY
Posts: 301
Default

thanks Nammie. is this something that should be done in this case? My question really is "does the piece need to be tacked"?
IQ2 is offline  
Old 06-01-2013, 08:24 PM
  #4  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Thornton, Colorado
Posts: 1,023
Default

Quilting without batting is rather challenging...I tried it once, and I won't do it again. Consider flannel for batting. It is thin and will provide stability to the piece without being too thick.
quilttiger is offline  
Old 06-01-2013, 08:35 PM
  #5  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Outer Space
Posts: 9,320
Default

If you don't secure it, it will likely not hold up well to washing and use.
Candace is offline  
Old 06-02-2013, 02:30 AM
  #6  
Power Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Northern Michigan
Posts: 12,371
Default

I've done this in the past- the one runner I made, choosing not to quilt in the body- turned out to be ...not so great! it looked good freshly done- when it was washed the first time the back kind of...twisted/shrank, in a different way than the top- it took a lot of ironing, working, with mixed results- finally wound up taking it apart, replaced the backing, added a layer of muslin, and quilted it- much better second time around. my mother does not like runners with batting in them-she likes them flat- so I always add either pre-washed muslin or flannel- and quilt it very well- then they do not take a ton of ironing after laundering.
ckcowl is offline  
Old 06-02-2013, 04:43 AM
  #7  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: MD
Posts: 1,060
Default

Suppose you didn't want to quilt the top, would you still need batting? I'm thinking of a table topper for one of those round decorative tables. It would be more like a tablecloth. The table has a glass top so I'd want it to be thin.
Quilt-Till-U-Wilt is offline  
Old 06-02-2013, 04:54 AM
  #8  
Power Poster
 
PaperPrincess's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 11,229
Default

For me it depends on if the item is just going to be used in the center of the table, like a runner or will cover the entire table, like a tablecloth. If the item is pieced, and will cover the entire table I think you need something in the middle like flannel or thin batting to sort of even out the pieced surface. This is so glasses and stemware will sit on it without wobbling.
PaperPrincess is offline  
Old 06-02-2013, 05:20 AM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
lfletcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Texas Hill Country
Posts: 947
Default

I backed a quilt with flannel once and decided not to use batting because of that. I have regretted it since. The quilt would have looked much better with some definition to the quilting stitch that the batting would have provided.
lfletcher is offline  
Old 06-02-2013, 07:27 AM
  #10  
IQ2
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: NY
Posts: 301
Default

Settled! I'm going to add a thin layer like flannel. With all of the seams of the twisters, I can imagine the bumpy mess that would result from washing if I don't quilt it. I appreciate the input of those with experience. I kind of suspected that would be the case, but I really did want it to be pretty flat so hoped I could "get away with it".
IQ2 is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
joyce888
Main
6
03-24-2016 09:32 AM
Krystyna
General Chit-Chat (non-quilting talk)
77
07-26-2011 11:25 AM
Pegggy
Main
17
09-20-2010 06:54 PM
desertquilter
Main
8
04-13-2008 09:14 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


FREE Quilting Newsletter


SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.