Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Quilts for public viewing >

Quilts for public viewing

Quilts for public viewing

Old 12-17-2011, 07:58 AM

Smile Quilts for public viewing

I live in Lebanon Oregon and work in a medical clinic. We have about 12 Dr.'s and Nurse Practitioners, so it is a fairly large office. The manager lets me display my quilts in the building. I get comments on them daily, which is fun but not the reason that I hang them there. I do it to provide comfort to my patients and to educate the public on what quilting is, which is an art form. The other thing I do for the guild I belong to, the Santiam Scrappers Quilt Guild, and our community, is hang quilts at our local Safeway store in the pharmacy department. I have been doing that for at least 6 years now. The pharmacy is locked up at night, so the quilts are safe. I have two spots to hang smaller quilts and change them out once a month. The pharmacy staff love it and so do the people who shop there!!! I am constantly bugging the members of the guild to give me at least two of their small quilts for a month to show. I don't want the quilts to always be mine!!!
I would love to hear how others are sharing quilts with the public. Maybe we could spark a quilt revolution
Old 12-17-2011, 08:22 AM

What great ideas! I don't think anything like that is being done around here.
Old 12-17-2011, 08:45 AM

Such a wonderful idea! Have you ever had one of your quilts "borrowed" or re-purposed?
Old 12-17-2011, 08:59 AM

Our local hospital always has artwork on display, rotating, but has quilts in their permanent collection in the offices. Not mine, though.
Old 12-17-2011, 09:03 AM

MaryMo, I am not quite sure what you mean about borrowed or re-purposed??
Old 12-17-2011, 09:16 AM

My Mom was reciently in the hospital . The floor she had "her stay" had a fabulous collection of quilts on all the walls. It provided the motivation for her to keep walking , in order to see the next quilt.
Old 12-17-2011, 10:27 AM
mim