Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Rag Quilt >

Rag Quilt

Rag Quilt

Old 11-18-2010, 07:32 PM

Help, this is my first time trying a rag quilt. I think i understand most of what iv'e read BUT do I cut out corners or just snip to the end? is it better to snip when all put together or snip as you go? Im using flannel all three layers do i make batting same size and snip it also? Or make batting smaller and just snip top and bottom. appreciate any help thanks.
Old 11-18-2010, 07:39 PM
Power Poster

I have made several and because I have trouble even after carpal tunnel surgery I clip as I go. It is just personal preference. If I use all flannel, I cut them the same size. If I use batting, I cut it smaller. I clip corners, but I am not sure what you are really supposed to do. I am sure someone will tell me if I am wrong...
Old 11-18-2010, 07:40 PM

I think just cut within about an inch of the corners. I have a die for the rag squares and the corner is not cut at all.
Old 11-18-2010, 07:42 PM

if you use batting cut it smaller because it won't fray. some ppl don't like to use batting, but living in the NW I sure do! I found when I snip, the corners get gone because the snips meet! I snipped the whole thing after putting it together, just cuddled up with it on a cold night and snipped away. I also found that the blisters that formed rubbed off. That hurt! Snip a few, figure out where the scissors are rubbing you and use some moleskin or wrap some bandaids around it. The blisters made me remember why I LOVE my rotary cutter, and I added moleskin to my sewing supplies.
Old 11-18-2010, 07:54 PM

I'v only used 2 layers of flannel and don't feel the need for batting, but thats a personal choice
Old 11-18-2010, 11:48 PM