Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Really Dumb question >

Really Dumb question

Really Dumb question

Old 07-24-2010, 07:39 AM

I'm working on my first quilt. This is the pattern I'm using-

http://www.freequiltpatterns.info/qu...e-patterns.htm

It's Lu Lus YoYos if the link doesn't work.

Anyway, I've got the quilt top done and I'm nervous about the next steps.

There are lots of tutorials for how to sandwich all three layers together and I think I'm comfortable layering, then pinning, then basting....

but the quilting part scares me. What do I do when I get to that part? I've never done this before. The pattern just says to quilt it, but how?

I know, dumb question.

FYI, I'm using a Featherweight.

Is there a tutorial for basic machine quilting for a first timer? I really need someone to hold my hand through this process and I cannot find a website to do that.
Old 07-24-2010, 07:46 AM

I sent that same pattern to my DM to make and she has it done! She's a handquilter so no help to you! I'm sure someone will have the answer for you. It just looks like a meandering all-over to me, but I don't do that either!
Old 07-24-2010, 07:50 AM

You can tie it instead of quilting it or try hand quilting it. Your other option is to get it all laid out & pin basted, then try to stitch in the ditch with your sewing machine--stitch next to the seam lines of blocks on the side where you haven't pressed over the seam. You could also drop your feed dogs (if you can do that on a FW), make a puddle around your needle by rolling up the edges of the quilt and clipping it somehow if it's very big and start free motion quilting.
Old 07-24-2010, 07:51 AM

I would love to do that quilt also, I was wondering about the quilting myself. Do you quilt it before you put the appliques on or after & how would you quilt it? Hope someone comes along to answer our questions......Was the quilt hard to do?.....Michele
Old 07-24-2010, 08:01 AM