Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Retayne & front loading machines >

Retayne & front loading machines

Retayne & front loading machines

Old 11-12-2015, 12:15 PM

Default Retayne & front loading machines

I bought two pieces of red fabrics yesterday to use for Christmas table runners. I decided to check for color fastness and, sure enough, bleeding of both pieces.

When checking info abut it, the website said that front-loading washing machines "do not supply enough water to properly treat" the fabric. I would need to "swish it around for 20 minutes". Has anyone done this? Twenty minutes is a long time to stand there swishing fabric!!!

Has anyone had any luck using the washing machine? I have two pieces that are each 1.5 yards. I'm wondering if I do each one separately in the machine if that would be enough water?
Old 11-12-2015, 12:37 PM
Power Poster

I think you need quite hot water as well? I have a top loading washer and I use straight hot water. I have no experience with front loading.
Old 11-12-2015, 02:08 PM
Power Poster

The fabric needs to be completely submerged in the Retayne & water solution. I don't think you really need to agitate constantly for 20 minutes, you just want to make sure the solution penetrates the entire piece of fabric. If you swished for a few minutes every so often you should be OK. The other thing is how often are you going to launder table runners?
Old 11-12-2015, 03:59 PM

I don't even bother with the washing machine. I put fabric in the bathtub with very hot water and a dab of detergent, then let it sit overnight. In the morning, I drain it and move it to the washing machine for a rinse & spin, then dry it in the dryer. I've never had a fabric bleed after doing this.

I learned this technique from a hand-dyer. This is how she treats her fabrics after she dyes them.
Old 11-12-2015, 04:18 PM

Originally Posted by Peckish View Post