Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Review - Olfa Circle Cutter

  1. #1
    Super Member katier825's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    7,149
    Blog Entries
    3
    I recently purchased the Olfa Rotary Circle Cutter http://www.olfa.com/CircleCuttersDet...px?C=50&Id=149 and wanted to share my thoughts.

    I have a very busy life and I don't mind spending money on a gadget that I think will help me get a quilt done more quickly and if I think I'll use it more than once. I really like the circle cutter! I didn't time how long it took because I was interrupted with company, but it was very quick. I tried it out on fabric scraps with great results. I added the Steam-a-seam before I cut out the circles for my quilt and I think it's easier with the fusible on it. My only complaint is lack of direction on the package. Fortunately, there are several video clips on You Tube to see it in action. Once I "got it", it was a breeze! If you've got a lot of circles to do, it's a very handy gadget. I paid about $16 with a coupon at Joann's. It cuts perfect circles from 1 7/8" to 8 1/2" very easily.

  2. #2
    Super Member magpie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Western NY
    Posts
    2,083
    Thank you for reviewing and sharing your findings. I was interested in buying this too.

  3. #3
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    KC MO
    Posts
    1,401
    Blog Entries
    6
    Thanks for the review...I have been thinking about purchasing this but didn't want another tool to thrown in a drawer not being used.

  4. #4
    Super Member abdconsultant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Western North Carolina
    Posts
    3,062
    Blog Entries
    46
    I'm into circles, I could sell these cutters they are wonderful, thats what i use to cut out my quilt as you go circles.
    Attached Images Attached Images


  5. #5
    Super Member no1jan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Upstate New York
    Posts
    2,103
    Thank you for the review! I bought one last week also with the Joann's coupon but haven't had a chance to use it yet.

    I am making a "Peace Symbol" Quilt for my dgd and I thought this would make it much easier.

    The only problem I've seen so far is that it uses an 18mm rotary blade, which my Joann's discontinued. I ended up ordering them from my favorite LQS, http://www.joyfulquilter.com/ which is having their ribbon cutting ceremony this weekend. They just built a new shop twice as large as before. It's good to know that there is enough business that they won't be closing!

    I love that place and can't wait to use the cutter!

  6. #6
    Super Member katier825's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    7,149
    Blog Entries
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by no1jan
    Thank you for the review! I bought one last week also with the Joann's coupon but haven't had a chance to use it yet.

    I am making a "Peace Symbol" Quilt for my dgd and I thought this would make it much easier.

    The only problem I've seen so far is that it uses an 18mm rotary blade, which my Joann's discontinued. I ended up ordering them from my favorite LQS, http://www.joyfulquilter.com/ which is having their ribbon cutting ceremony this weekend. They just built a new shop twice as large as before. It's good to know that there is enough business that they won't be closing!

    I love that place and can't wait to use the cutter!
    There are several online sources for the 18mm blades. Ebay has some also. Just beware when shopping because there is also an 18mm "perforated" blade, which I think is used for scrapbooking. I got that by mistake on ebay...see what I get for not reading the entire listing!

  7. #7
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    3,258
    Your quilts are so neat. Love the color choices.

  8. #8
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    3,258
    Your quilts are so neat. Love the color choices.

  9. #9
    Power Poster amma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Out searching for some sunshine :-)
    Posts
    59,079
    Blog Entries
    1
    Thank you for sharing this with us :D:D:D

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.