Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
?'s about pattern publishing >

?'s about pattern publishing

?'s about pattern publishing

Old 10-31-2013, 07:03 AM

Default ?'s about pattern publishing

Hi,

I have some questions about publishing a pattern. A lady asked me to make a quilt, and showed me a picture of what she wanted, but I could not find the directions to let her know yardage. It is a very simple pattern. The question I have is, what makes it your own. If the block is out there, I imagine that instructions would be as well. However, when I look at patterns, I find that there are several patterns that use the same blocks. Is it the way you write the decorations? I would just like to give writing pattern directions a try.

Thanks

Kathy
hsquiltingmom
Old 10-31-2013, 07:13 AM

I am no expert in this area but I use patterns as a guide. My creations (whether they be quilts, clothing or other project) never end up looking exactly like the pattern for some reason. I rarely use the same fabrics and I must not put them together in the same exact way, so I consider the pattern a motivator. hope that helps ......
Old 10-31-2013, 07:14 AM

If it is a traditional block, something our grandmothers would have made, it has no copywrite. Quilts are just made up of combinations of squares, rectangles, triangles, hexies, etc. If you put them together in your own way with your own ideas, it is your pattern. That's all these designers do. IMHO
Old 10-31-2013, 08:34 AM
Power Poster

There are no new ways that I have seen. Just put together than traditional blocks were. It doesn't take a genius to stand and maneuver blocks around to come up with a different look. I do it all the time. There are copy write police on here and I'm sure one or more will be along soon. I keep or give my quilts away. Selling the quilts creates some problems, from what I have read.
Old 10-31-2013, 09:30 AM
Power Poster