Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Sewing machine purchase advice >

Sewing machine purchase advice

Sewing machine purchase advice

Old 12-15-2014, 01:03 PM

Default Sewing machine purchase advice

My old sewing machine is dying and I am looking to purchase a new machine and would love some advice. I will be using it mostly for making quilts. I have narrowed it down to a Janome 4120QDC or Bernina 350PE. Any suggestions or imputs? I looked at the Husqvarna but the dealer does not seem very reliable. I am relatively new to quilting and have made 6-8 so far.
Thank you!!
Old 12-15-2014, 01:20 PM

Test drive the machines. Take fabrics and batting and try them out. Ask lots of questions. The dealer is the one of the most important part of the sale. Your dealers should be knowledgable and be able to sit down and show you the machines. Do they offer classes (free with a new machine purchase or paid for used machine). Can they show you how to clean and do simple repairs. Do they have sales people who understand how to talk on the phone (if the sales people cannot talk you through simple question over the phone, will you have to travel there?). Is the warrenty through the manufacturer or through the dealer? Do they treat you the same if you buy a $500.00 machine as they do the $5000.00 purchaser, the $12,000.00? Are you welcomed into the store like a friend or as just someone who walked through the door? Buy the best machine you can buy with the money you have. Do some on-line research about both machines and don't be afraid to say you want to sleep on the deal. Get the deal in writing, it may not be the same when you return. Then negotiate again, never hurts to ask for extra machine attachments, thread, stabilizers, etc. good luck and enjoy whatever machine you decide on.
Old 12-15-2014, 02:01 PM