Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
sewing machine questions >

sewing machine questions

sewing machine questions

Old 08-23-2014, 09:31 AM

Default sewing machine questions

I'm new to quilting but have a moderate level of sewing experience, in general. I have a Singer Scholastic which I very much like for typical sewing such as clothing etc. I'd like to keep that one, but get one for quilting. I'm so
Unfamiliar with all the different types of machines and what they can do that I'm lost when researching them. I thought that maybe if I listed what if like in a machine you ladies, and gentlemen could help me out.
My wish list: a machine that doesn't need a frame to be used to quilt
(Hopefully there is such a thing)
I don't necessarily need a programmable one, but if that's what it takes to be able to move the needle sideways to quilt then that's fine. I'd like to be able to quilt designs, right now I can only do straight lines.
I don't even know enough to know which questions to ask, lol.
Any help would be appreciated. Thanks, Kelly
Old 08-23-2014, 09:38 AM

You'll want one with a large throat or harp or whatever term is used for the opening to the right of the needle. That way you can stuff quilts through for quilting them. I have the Janome 6600 which has a 9" opening but there are some that have an 11". Other helpful things are a built in walking foot (or one you have to put on will work too) and a "needle down" feature which makes your machine have the needle down when you stop sewing. Happy shopping!
Old 08-23-2014, 09:44 AM
Administrator

start by looking at all the major manufacturers' websites.
you won't find prices there, but you will get an idea of all the features available.
you will also need to set your price limit.
then look around at online dealers - including amazon and the big-box department stores.
that will give you some idea of how much you will need to spend in order to get as many of the desired features as will fit into your budget.