Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums >
  • Main
  • Sewing machine throat space >
  • Sewing machine throat space

  • Sewing machine throat space

    Old 09-27-2014, 06:12 AM
      #1  
    Member
    Thread Starter
     
    Join Date: Sep 2014
    Location: Eastern Canada
    Posts: 37
    Default Sewing machine throat space

    I'm new to quilting and so far have just worked on a 35 year old Kenmore machine that is sadly lacking in many ways. I'm thinking of buying the Janome M1250Q:
    https://janome-sah.com/sewing-machines/juno-m1250q.html

    It is supposedly designed for quilting and comes with a "quilting kit" but the throat space is only about 7-8 inches as far as I can tell from the website pics. Do you think it is possible to make a bed sized quilt on this machine?
    Imagin is offline  
    Old 09-27-2014, 06:35 AM
      #2  
    Super Member
     
    Join Date: Jun 2010
    Location: Michigan
    Posts: 2,451
    Default

    I think your asking about "quilting" the top, not just piecing the top. The measurements you listed isn't very much, I suggest you roll up a blanket or quilt you have and wiggle it under your current machine to give you a point of reference .......calla
    calla is offline  
    Old 09-27-2014, 06:39 AM
      #3  
    Power Poster
     
    Join Date: Mar 2013
    Location: Corpus Christi, Tx.
    Posts: 16,105
    Default

    Depending on the size of the quilt would determine the ease of quilting. Obviously the larger the quilt the more difficulty but only because it maybe a little cumbersome. I've done a crib and lap throw on mine (a Singer) with 6" and my 401 is only 6". Look at the manual and see what it says. I am looking into larger throat but am anticipating QAYG (quilt as you go) for a couple others. I'll see how a twin works then decide if I need to get something with a larger throat. I will shop locally so I can be hands on with the machine.
    tessagin is offline  
    Old 09-27-2014, 06:40 AM
      #4  
    Power Poster
     
    Join Date: Mar 2013
    Location: Corpus Christi, Tx.
    Posts: 16,105
    Default

    Originally Posted by calla
    I think your asking about "quilting" the top, not just piecing the top. The measurements you listed isn't very much, I suggest you roll up a blanket or quilt you have and wiggle it under your current machine to give you a point of reference .......calla
    I never thought about this. Thanks for the tip.
    tessagin is offline  
    Old 09-27-2014, 06:41 AM
      #5  
    Member
    Thread Starter
     
    Join Date: Sep 2014
    Location: Eastern Canada
    Posts: 37
    Default

    Yes, sorry, I did mean quilting. How much throat space would you want a machine to have to quilt a twin bed sized quilt?

    Originally Posted by calla
    I think your asking about "quilting" the top, not just piecing the top. The measurements you listed isn't very much, I suggest you roll up a blanket or quilt you have and wiggle it under your current machine to give you a point of reference .......calla
    Imagin is offline  
    Old 09-27-2014, 06:44 AM
      #6  
    Power Poster
     
    Annaquilts's Avatar
     
    Join Date: Jul 2010
    Location: SoCal
    Posts: 11,921
    Default

    The new machines have very little space and often the measurement refers to the width only but there is very little height. Have you considered buying an older machine off of Craigs list? A machine like the Singer 51 19 has a very high throat opening.
    Annaquilts is offline  
    Old 09-27-2014, 06:46 AM
      #7  
    Member
    Thread Starter
     
    Join Date: Sep 2014
    Location: Eastern Canada
    Posts: 37
    Default

    Oooh, good idea! I hadn't even thought about quilt as you go. I really want a Babylock Aria but just can't afford or justify the price as a new quilter. I like that this Janome has so many features for the price but it's definitely lacking in throat space. Odd they did that for a machine designed for quilters.

    Originally Posted by tessagin
    Depending on the size of the quilt would determine the ease of quilting. Obviously the larger the quilt the more difficulty but only because it maybe a little cumbersome. I've done a crib and lap throw on mine (a Singer) with 6" and my 401 is only 6". Look at the manual and see what it says. I am looking into larger throat but am anticipating QAYG (quilt as you go) for a couple others. I'll see how a twin works then decide if I need to get something with a larger throat. I will shop locally so I can be hands on with the machine.
    Imagin is offline  
    Old 09-27-2014, 06:50 AM
      #8  
    Member
    Thread Starter
     
    Join Date: Sep 2014
    Location: Eastern Canada
    Posts: 37
    Default

    I'm in Canada and it's harder to get heavy items shipped here. Also, I have to admit, after so long with an old machine I'm really wanting the new shiny experience

    Originally Posted by Annaquilts
    The new machines have very little space and often the measurement refers to the width only but there is very little height. Have you considered buying an older machine off of Craigs list? A machine like the Singer 51 19 has a very high throat opening.
    Imagin is offline  
    Old 09-27-2014, 06:56 AM
      #9  
    Junior Member
     
    Join Date: May 2014
    Location: Maumee, OH
    Posts: 291
    Default

    I now use a Babylock Tiara for the biggest quilts, however, my Janome 6600 has many features and great space for up to a full sized quilt. I still use it for all my quilts (any size) to stitch in the ditch prior to free-motioning the decorative quilting. The 6600 may be available used at a very good price. I wouldn't hesitate recommending it.
    MsHeirloom is offline  
    Old 09-27-2014, 06:59 AM
      #10  
    Super Member
     
    Emma S's Avatar
     
    Join Date: Jun 2010
    Location: Roseburg, OR
    Posts: 2,976
    Default

    Imagin: Since your are going to free motion quilt your projects, the most important thing would probably be the harp size. The only comparatively inexpensive machine I know of is the Brother 1900S, it has a 9" harp which can accommodate a king size quilt. This machine has only a straight stich but for my purposes I don't miss the fancy stitches. Probably a decision you have to make depending on your planned use.
    Emma S is offline  
    Related Topics
    Thread
    Thread Starter
    Forum
    Replies
    Last Post
    hopetoquilt
    Main
    18
    08-01-2011 06:39 AM
    anewchapter
    Main
    2
    07-14-2011 03:36 PM
    so-sew
    Main
    2
    01-06-2011 09:47 AM
    Prayerquilter
    Main
    16
    12-25-2010 04:25 PM

    Posting Rules
    You may not post new threads
    You may not post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is On
    HTML code is On
    Trackbacks are Off
    Pingbacks are Off
    Refbacks are Off


    FREE Quilting Newsletter