Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Sewn down seam allowence. >

Sewn down seam allowence.

Sewn down seam allowence.

Old 02-15-2016, 01:10 AM

Default Sewn down seam allowence.

As hard as I try I sometimes stitch my seam allowence down going the wrong way. Should I pick those out and re stitch them as I go or do you just iron them flat? I'm still learning and it seems I pick out more stitches than I sew in sometimes. I can't wait until I get this process to go a little smoother.
Old 02-15-2016, 01:34 AM

IMHO - I leave them unless it is something that will be seen through a lighter colored material. I say that because I too would be doing a lot of 'reverse' quilting. When everything is put together you won't know they are the wrong way. But, that's just my opinion.
Old 02-15-2016, 01:46 AM

I took a class by AQS Show Director Bonnie Browning. She suggested just making a snip in the fabric near the intersection (be careful to cut inward, close to the line of stitching, but not through it), flip the seam the correct way & then press it down. No one is perfect & if it's good enough for QuiltWeek, it's good enough for me.
Old 02-15-2016, 02:18 AM

I looked at the back of some quilts of a known quilter and she had some stitched in the wrong direction. I don't remember which quilter it was but she left them. I figured they would never show unless someone was inspecting for a show
Old 02-15-2016, 03:55 AM

I try to fix them as I go, but have left some if I think it will not be noticed on the right side. I do a lot of pressing as I go, so most do end up turned toward the correct side.
Old 02-15-2016, 04:40 AM

This happens to all of us because the feed dogs just catch the edge and pull a seam allowance under. I think it creates a problem-especially when using s DSM. I check every seam as I sew or press. If one is turned wrong I fix it. It involves only clipping a couple of stitches to free it and then restitch it.
Old 02-15-2016, 05:32 AM