Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 10 1 2 ... LastLast

Thread: Should I just give up?

I am part of a Block of the Month group at my local quilt shop. I've been quilting for about 2 years and haven't really accomplished much, but I wanted to join this BOM to learn more about quilting and to end up with a beautiful quilt for my bed. Bad move.
    The owner of the shop is a wonderful lady who is patient and helpful and the other ladies in the group are equally helpful. No -problem there. The problem is me and my lack of self-confidence and skill. These ladies are good....really good. They are doing this quilt as either an investment (it was costly) or as an entry in shows. I am totally intimidated by their abilities and have ripped out all my blocks I've done so far.
    My question is this, should I just give up and chalk it up to an expensive lesson in "look before you quilt"? I really don't know what to do. Thanks for letting me vent.

dont be hard on your self it does not have to be perfect we all started some where. it will be fun to look back at your first quilt and you will marvel at how far you have come.

Blog Entries
    One block at a time is the way that I have taught. Don't look at all of the blocks and get overwhelmed. Can you show us one block at a time? I am sure that people can give you a lot of help in order to be able to make the quilt. I would be glad to have you pm me and if I can help, I would love to.

Keep going... you've got the stuff and you need practice (don't we all?)

Use it as a "sampler" like they did for Victorian Ladies when they were learning to do handwork...

some day, you'll look at it and smile as how far you've come

Go for it ... this group will root for you all the way