Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Stash building >

Stash building

Stash building

Old 11-02-2010, 02:45 AM

Any advice on building a stash of good fabric with a limited budget? What type of fabrics should I spend on? Also templates! Where can I find them for cheaper than normal? All I have is a 5x20" june tailor rectangle ruler. It has lines for cutting triangles but I have no idea how to use it for that.
Old 11-02-2010, 02:53 AM

I built my stash as I worked on quilts. I also occasionally would buy 1-2yds of a fabric I like. I've been doing that for about 3 years and have a nice stash and have been able to use it with only a random purchase of more fabric for a project-like backing.
Joanne's with a coupon is a good place to get rulers etc. Some LQS have good prices on templates and are helpful in teaching how to use them.
good luck
Old 11-02-2010, 02:59 AM

my stash has mostly come from leftovers from quilts. look to freecycle in your area, to maybe come up with cotton fabrics.
i moderate a board in our area.

i think White fabric or White on white is always needed.

if i have a coupon for Joanns or hobby Lobby, i get a couple yards of "blender" fabrics.
i also try to cut small pieces of fabric leftovers into 2 or 3 " square pieces, and toss them in a box, for scrappy quilts to make at a later date...
Old 11-02-2010, 03:04 AM

I built up my stash from buying a little extra every time i made a quilt. Sometimes i but fabric just because i like it and save it til it "talks to me" Buy what you like and as much as you can comfortably afford. Your stash will grow and grow!!
Old 11-02-2010, 03:12 AM

There are some really good teaching videos on the page of this link.
One of them may be your ruler.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hdugcEccsDQ
This is another link with lots of really good teaching videos.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zyqNo-0iItA
Good luck.
Old 11-02-2010, 03:21 AM