Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: stitch in ditch sewing foot

I guess i was born with crooked genes because no mater how hard i try i can't sew a striat line. Most of my quilting is s stitch in the ditch. So i bought a sitd sewing foot. i run the blade right down the the seam. But im still off track. it runs about a 1/16thto 1/8th off the ditch. do you set the foot some how ? what am i doing wrong . why wont my ding dang darn stitches stay in the ditch?

Blog Entries
    I am still learning how to SITD and have a foot like you described. I read somewhere (don't remember where, though!) to gently pull on the seams as you stitch through them. I think it caused the thread to sink down in the seam and not be noticable??? My brain was fuzzy last night to asthma problems and I may not have remembered correctly.

I just got a new sitd foot the beginning of summer. I already killed it. Just go slow when you are stitching. I've learned to do it without that thingy. It's frustrating. I even tried the clear thread, but that was hard to see when threading the machine. And it's hard enough trying to get thread through that ity bity hole. If you go slow then areas where the seams may cross may be where you are going off a little. But there's no quilt police, so unless you absolute hate it, no one else will notice.

I find it extremely hard to keep all the stitches in the ditch which, since that is pretty much all I can do at the moment, is pretty frustrating.

However, I just finished a baby quilt in Minkee and that stuff is marvelous for hiding any quilting irregularities :wink: My SID foot just loved it :lol:

Blog Entries
    I usually move my needle position to where I want it when I SITD. Really helps me.