Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Storing thread >

Storing thread

Storing thread

Old 07-02-2011, 08:07 AM

With embroidery thread, how are you storing yours? I have mine in a wooden cabinet that stores all of my embroidery supplies, but the thread keeps unwinding. I was thinking about buying some more of the netting that you are supposed to use when it unspools easily and just using it for while it is in the cabinet. Where would you buy it in bulk?
I am new to the embroidery machine and loving it, but coming up with questions all the time.
I used to store my regular threads on a pegboard, but have recently moved them back to containers....way to many of them!
Old 07-02-2011, 08:23 AM

I keep mine in a drawer, my spool have a thing on the bottom where it opens up slightly to allow the thread to be wound around.

Plus I have over 200 spools I haven't even taken the shrink-wrap off of.

this is what the description said.....

"Polystar - Now With Snap Spools!
Are you tired of your embroidery thread unraveling on you? Well the Polystar 61 Embroidery Set is now wound on Snap Spools to prevent your thread from unraveling! Simply pull on the base of the spool, which is extremely simple thanks to the added ridges for grip, lay your thread in between the top of the spool and the bottom of the spool and simply push down. Your thread will no longer unravel and will stay nice and tidy in your Polystar Storage Box. The snap spool also helps you find the end of the thread easily."

my thread drawer
[ATTACH=CONFIG]219751[/ATTACH]

see how the spool looks like it's two pieces
[ATTACH=CONFIG]219752[/ATTACH]
Attached Thumbnails attachment-219745.jpe   attachment-219746.jpe  
Old 07-02-2011, 08:27 AM

Thank You!!! I have Metro and Isacord and not opening till I need them. I kept looking at the bottom of the spool cause it was there to begin with. I just pulle the bottom slightly and voila!!!

Thanks again!

Originally Posted by Chasing Hawk