Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Straight line quilting questions >

Straight line quilting questions

Straight line quilting questions

Old 09-06-2013, 12:22 PM

Default Straight line quilting questions

Hello... again

I have decided to quilt in straight lines as I am a beginner and I like the look of it too. This is my quilt, as seen in the photo, and it has some great lines to follow. Any suggestions as to what to do and do it well? I understand I need a walking foot, good thread and a non roving pair of eyes!!

Do you think that if I stitched in the ditch first, I could then start to sew my lines after I have anchored it down?

Any advice would be great thank you
Attached Thumbnails 040920131891.jpg  
Old 09-06-2013, 12:25 PM

Do you have any of those guides that attaches to your walking foot? That way, after your first line, just keep your guide on the stitched line and they'll all be the same distance apart. That is, if you're not doing SITD.
Old 09-06-2013, 12:38 PM
Power Poster

If doing SITD, a SITD foot can be a BIG help!
Or if wanting 1/4" away, then you can use a 1/4" foot to help for the consistency.
Adjusting the needle left/right and you can be narrower or wider on that spacing.

Depending on your machine, you may not need a walking foot ... some of the machines in the last few years have built in features, which do the job of the walking foot.
Old 09-06-2013, 01:01 PM

I like the colors you used on your quilt, I would probably do X's from corner to corner of the squares. But then I am chicken about stitching in the ditch. If I don't do it, I don't have problems with it not always being in the ditch.
Old 09-06-2013, 01:17 PM
Power Poster

Another quilting hint, particularly for SITD ... use a finer thread as it is less noticeable when you have some "oops" moments!

Coarse thread can give a really nice look .... but sure shows up any stitching faux-pas!
Old 09-06-2013, 01:22 PM
Power Poster