Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Suggestions for quilting log cabin >

Suggestions for quilting log cabin

Suggestions for quilting log cabin

Old 02-21-2014, 04:59 PM
Power Poster

Default Suggestions for quilting log cabin

I'm very new to long arm quilting and need some suggestions on how to quilt a log cabin top. I cannot do stitch-n-the-ditch and I think an allover meander would not look good. Any suggestions would be most welcomed.
Old 02-21-2014, 05:48 PM

I just gave a king size log cabin to my son, it was hand quilted down the center of each log. It really looked nice
Old 02-21-2014, 06:09 PM
Power Poster

Feathers in the light areas of a log cabin look nice.

http://www.quiltingboard.com/picture...t-t237281.html
Old 02-22-2014, 06:14 AM

I just finished a log cabin quilt and plan to quilt it on my long arm using the Baptist Fan pattern. I purchased the groovy boards (not sure if that's the correct name) from Urban Elementz. I think they also have a pantograph. I have used that pattern on several other quilts and really like it.
Old 02-22-2014, 06:23 AM
Power Poster

Originally Posted by lfletcher View Post
I just finished a log cabin quilt and plan to quilt it on my long arm using the Baptist Fan pattern. I purchased the groovy boards (not sure if that's the correct name) from Urban Elementz. I think they also have a pantograph. I have used that pattern on several other quilts and really like it.
Yes, as I was reading the post, I kept think what the name of that pattern was. Thanks lfletcher for reminding me what a great pattern this is!! Yes, check into a Baptist fan. It will look great on it. You want something that will stand in the background and not try to draw attention away from the pieced quilt top. I notice so many quilters want to show of their quilting but you really should want your piecing to be the star of the show and the quilting to compliment the piecing.
Old 02-22-2014, 06:39 AM