Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Suggestions on sewing machines >

Suggestions on sewing machines

Suggestions on sewing machines

Old 05-09-2016, 02:59 PM

Default Suggestions on sewing machines

Hi everybody. I just joined the forum yesterday and have received the warmest welcome. Since I am a beginner and have never quilted before what would be the best sewing machine to purchase? What functions am I looking for if any on it? Is a used sewing machine just as good? Thank you for any and all suggestions.
Old 05-09-2016, 03:29 PM
Power Poster

Everyone is going to answer that their machine is best! I would visit sewing machine dealers in your area. Purchasing a machine from a dealer will give you someone to call if you have a problem. Many dealers have previously owned machines that they sell with a limited warranty and sometimes a lesson or two on basic usage & maintenance. Until you decide what type of quilting you are going to do, an entry level machine with a zigzag stitch, needle down option and a built in threader is really all you need. If you like quilting, you can eventually invest in a machine with more bells & whistles.
Old 05-09-2016, 03:38 PM

Hello Christy from the Dallas Area. You will love this forum. We have many sewers to answer questions and for help. All you have to do is ask.
Old 05-09-2016, 03:44 PM

As PaperPrincess said needle down is a fabulous feature. You will also want to get a 1/4 inch foot and walking foot to fit your machine. You can get any range in price. From $50 to $3000. I am just as happy with my lower cost machine as some are with the high end. It all depends on how many bells and whistles you wanted. If you are a beginner I would start with something under $500. You can always go up later
Old 05-09-2016, 03:56 PM