Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Those of you who have BlockBase from EQ, >

Those of you who have BlockBase from EQ,

Those of you who have BlockBase from EQ,

Old 12-31-2017, 06:38 PM
  #1  
Power Poster
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Western Wisconsin
Posts: 12,930
Default Those of you who have BlockBase from EQ,

do you actually use it? A little? A lot? I assume you can import blocks from it into EQ7. One of my New Year's resolutions is to become more proficient in the EQ7 I've had for years. BlockBase is on sale now, but the sample blocks I am seeing are all quite complex so I'm not sure I would actually use anything in it.
Prism99 is offline  
Old 12-31-2017, 07:06 PM
  #2  
Moderator
 
QuiltnNan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: western NY formerly MN, FL, NC, SC
Posts: 51,104
Default

I rarely use it. Sometimes I use it to look up a block name that might come up in discussions here on the QB. Most of the time, I just draw my own blocks rather than use pre-drawn blocks. Others may have a different opinion on it.
__________________
Nancy in western NY
before you speak T.H.I.N.K. T is it True? H is it Helpful? I is it Inspiring? N is it Necessary? K is it Kind?
Life may not be the party we hoped for, but while we are here we might as well dance.
QuiltnNan is offline  
Old 12-31-2017, 07:26 PM
  #3  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: The Deep South near Cajun Country, USA
Posts: 4,380
Default

I like having it, but rarely use it. I used it a lot to begin with, although I never made any of the quilts I designed. I find I am not artistic at all. Now, I mostly draw my own blocks and they are usually copies from quilts that I like but don't know the names of. I do like to add a bit of variation in the blocks and with the settings.

Edited to add: Some patterns are so wordy these days that they confuse me. I use EQ and draw the blocks used in a pattern I want to make and do a rotary cutting pdf of each block. I can follow these much easier than the written patterns. Now, if the pattern is for paper piecing, then I follow the pattern completely.

Last edited by Barb in Louisiana; 12-31-2017 at 07:31 PM.
Barb in Louisiana is offline  
Old 12-31-2017, 08:13 PM
  #4  
Power Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Southern USA
Posts: 11,934
Default

I have Block Base and rarely use it. It's very confusing to me and takes me forever to find a block I am looking for. It's like looking up a word in the dictionary when you don't know how to spell it. It's easier to draft the block in EQ.
Onebyone is offline  
Old 12-31-2017, 08:33 PM
  #5  
Power Poster
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Western Wisconsin
Posts: 12,930
Default

Thanks, everyone! That was exactly the information I was looking for.
Prism99 is offline  
Old 01-01-2018, 06:55 PM
  #6  
Member
 
Warbler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Vermont
Posts: 33
Default

I do use BlockBase, I have it as a part of EQ8 block library. I've already designed a couple quilts using EQ8 and one of the alternate blocks I used came from BB. I think it expands the design possibilities of EQ enormously.
Warbler is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Tiggersmom
Main
9
10-29-2013 10:18 AM
Honchey
Main
4
08-20-2012 11:37 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


FREE Quilting Newsletter


SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.