Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Top thread showing a little >

Top thread showing a little

Top thread showing a little

Old 12-03-2020, 11:07 AM

Default Top thread showing a little

Hi all! I'm a newbie. My mom ambushed me with not one, but TWO Sunbonnet Sew quilting projects using baby clothes from my sister and me.

I got the first one appliqued, pieced and messily FMQed. I used coordinating deep purple top thread on the sashing and border, to keep the quilting subtle.

In a few places, this top thread shows through a bit on the cream-colored backing. It's not consistent across the quilt, or I'd consider it a happy design accident. My 1970s Viking died mid-quilting and I bought a beginner-quality Janome. This may have contributed to my sloppy tension.

Other than ripping out those border and sashing areas and re-quilting with better tension, is there an easy fix?

I was thinking matte fabric paint carefully dabbed on those tiny purple dots might conceal my mess-up?

Any other ideas? I was hoping to finish the embellishments and send this to my sister for Christmas. For the purposes of this project, done is better than perfect.
Old 12-03-2020, 11:31 AM

It may all smooth out in the wash. Try to gently pull front fabric away from back fabric and see if it evens out.
Old 12-03-2020, 11:46 AM
Power Poster

Once washed, the thread may pull into the sandwich as the quilt puffs back up. I have coloured white pokes on a black border with a black sharpie. Only colour your threads as a last resort if washing doesn’t help and if you can get a perfect match on the fabric colour.
Old 12-03-2020, 12:22 PM

The quilt comes with lots of love, and that's what's important.
Old 12-03-2020, 01:00 PM