Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Transparent Canning Jar >

Transparent Canning Jar

Transparent Canning Jar

Old 08-09-2020, 09:20 AM

Default Transparent Canning Jar

I am new to applique but I really enjoy it. I would like to make a quilt with a canning jar full of flowers, similar to this.
https://www.bing.com/images/search?v...mageBasicHover

How would I make the jar appear to be transparent? Would I use something like tulle? I have never used that in a quilt before. Thanks for your help.
Old 08-09-2020, 09:34 AM

I don't know that I would use tulle unless this quilt is a wall hanging that will no put it at risk. Another thing I recently discovered at a workshop I attended using tulle on a quilt (wall hanging) was using black tulle somehow worked better for quilting as the object was not washed out for lack of color or tone.

I would use a White on White for the jar and be sure that the stems were appliqued outside the jar with the ring of the jar over the stems. You may want to get a be of dimension by adding a bit of gray to make the bottom of the jar. You may have a bit of hand embroidery stitching to provide for the rest of the bottom, to make the circular aspect as well as the upper ring. Of course these are my thoughts and it is always up to the quilter. I can wait to see what you are doing!
Old 08-09-2020, 10:08 AM
Power Poster

Using a pale fabric for the jar and appliqueing the stems of the flower on top of it as juliasb suggested.
Old 08-09-2020, 10:51 AM

To me it looks like they first appliqued the stems and then covered them with organza and then embroidered the gray details and shape of the jar. This kind of organza has some kind of shimmer to make it look like glass.
Old 08-09-2020, 11:58 AM

She says she uses organza on some and clear vinyl on others.

http://marvelesartstudios.com/new-ti...n-jar-pattern/
Old 08-09-2020, 01:28 PM