Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Thread: Trimming blocks to same size due to user error :)

Trimming blocks to same size due to user error :)

I am making a Japanese X and plus block quilt. I am very new to machine sewing and have been working on my cutting and 1/4 seams, sewing on the diagonal etc but have A LONG way to being good. These blocks are supposed to be 8 inches at this point but already one in three is off enough that I would not join it to the others.
    Here is my question I would like to get a 7 1/2 ruler and trim them all when I am done so they will match better. MY question is how to best ensure that the outside pieces will meet up nicely with the ones on with side while trimming. I can find lots of sites about trimming "down" but not trimming to eliminate funkiness,, Any help appreciated!

Name:  IMG_2124.JPG
Views: 1697
Size:  654.2 KB

I can be no help, but I like your blocks!

Dina

Unfortunately, funkiness cannot be trimmed away...JMHO........to insure a true 1/4" seam use tape or postit notes to keep you on the mark...and of course, your cutting must be as accurate as possible....the three you show really don't look bad...there is a bit of "squish or stretch" when you join blocks together. Just sew slowly, pin much if you feel it helps and wow! It will all come together....

Make sure you trim on all sides. Have the halfway measurements in the very center. If you are trimming to 7 1/2 unfinished, you will have to put the 3 3/4 inch line through the center block. Or if you are trimming to 8 inch unfinished the lines of the ruler should be the 4in mark thru the center of your block both ways.

Good tips! I often have the deal with funkiness myself. I LOVE the fabric in your blocks!
    Lori

This is what I was thinking. Problems only on very edges. Thank you for you reply.