Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 69

Thread: Twin Needle

  1. #1
    Super Member MommaDorian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Sully, Iowa
    Posts
    2,506
    Blog Entries
    2
    I have a 'twin needle' in the stuff that came with my machine. Can someone tell me what it's for?

  2. #2
    Power Poster Sadiemae's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Idaho
    Posts
    11,454
    Blog Entries
    20
    My mom always used a twin needle for two rows of topstitching, especially on t-shirts.

  3. #3
    Super Member MommaDorian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Sully, Iowa
    Posts
    2,506
    Blog Entries
    2
    I found this note on a website, when searching for the use of twin needles.

    Note: Twin needles are ONLY for machines with the bobbin located in the front.

    Does this mean the bobbin is inserted from the front rather than the top? My machine came with a twin needle, but the bobbin in loaded on top.

  4. #4
    Power Poster Sadiemae's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Idaho
    Posts
    11,454
    Blog Entries
    20
    Quote Originally Posted by MommaDorian
    I found this note on a website, when searching for the use of twin needles.

    Note: Twin needles are ONLY for machines with the bobbin located in the front.

    Does this mean the bobbin is inserted from the front rather than the top? My machine came with a twin needle, but the bobbin in loaded on top.
    I would think it means from the front, not the top. I have never heard that and why would the machine come with it if you can't use it? Have you looked in the sewing machine book?
    What kind of machine do you have?

  5. #5
    Super Member MommaDorian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Sully, Iowa
    Posts
    2,506
    Blog Entries
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by Sadiemae
    Quote Originally Posted by MommaDorian
    I found this note on a website, when searching for the use of twin needles.

    Note: Twin needles are ONLY for machines with the bobbin located in the front.

    Does this mean the bobbin is inserted from the front rather than the top? My machine came with a twin needle, but the bobbin in loaded on top.
    I would think it means from the front, not the top. I have never heard that and why would the machine come with it if you can't use it? Have you looked in the sewing machine book?
    What kind of machine do you have?
    I have a Brother CS6000i. I'm not sure why it came with one, based on that note.

  6. #6
    Power Poster Sadiemae's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Idaho
    Posts
    11,454
    Blog Entries
    20
    I googled and I didn't see that. Two different sites said that most machines can use a twin needle if they have zig-zag capabilities and a needle plate with a horizontal hole to avoid needle breakage. So if you have a zig zag foot I think you can use the needle.

  7. #7
    Power Poster Sadiemae's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Idaho
    Posts
    11,454
    Blog Entries
    20
    I looked up your machine and it says right on Brother's website that an attribute to the machine is the twin needle.

  8. #8
    Super Member miss_ticky2's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Gold Coast, Australia
    Posts
    2,053
    I've often used twin needles in my top loading bobbin machine..no problems. I've used them to do 2 rows of topstiching, and you can also so pin tucks but you have to play with the tensions quite a bit, both top and bottom tensions (on my machine anyway).

  9. #9
    Super Member Kathy N's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Brighton, MI
    Posts
    1,008
    I have a top loading bobbin on my Janome and have used twin needles many times. You have to make sure that your stitch width accomodates the size of needles you have. If your machine only has a 5mm width you can't use a twin needle that needs 7mm.

  10. #10
    Power Poster Prism99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Western Wisconsin
    Posts
    11,891
    Blog Entries
    1
    If you use a twin needle to do topstitching, be aware that the stitching on the underside is very different than what you might expect; it form a zigzag between the two rows on top. This makes it nice for topstitching knits, because the zigzag underneath gives the stitch some stretch. The bobbin tension usually needs to be loosened for this type of stitch; otherwise the fabric creates a "tunnel" between the two lines of stitching (from the zigzagging being too tight).

  11. #11
    Power Poster nativetexan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    home again, after 27 yrs!
    Posts
    15,696
    Blog Entries
    2
    or depending on the size of your twin needles, they could be used to stitch packaged pre made bias binding down.

  12. #12
    tooMuchFabric's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    TX
    Posts
    1,275
    Blog Entries
    3
    Twin needles also make beautiful pintuck effect for heirloom sewing.
    .

  13. #13
    Power Poster ckcowl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Northern Michigan
    Posts
    11,173
    Blog Entries
    1
    twin needles are also great for stitching down the (leading) bias tape that you use for stained glass applique! fun and fast.

  14. #14
    Power Poster sandpat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    18,757
    Blog Entries
    9
    I love playing with the twin needles! I've used them to sew bindings down and to create "special" effects when playing with threads. It helps to use stabalizer under your stitches if you don't want that tunnel effect.

    You might want to check with the Brother dealer to make sure your particular machine will accomodate the twin needles before you use it though. I didn't know if you bought the whole shebang from a dealer or individual. Have fun though!

  15. #15
    Super Member dungeonquilter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,027
    Quote Originally Posted by MommaDorian
    I found this note on a website, when searching for the use of twin needles.

    Note: Twin needles are ONLY for machines with the bobbin located in the front.

    Does this mean the bobbin is inserted from the front rather than the top? My machine came with a twin needle, but the bobbin in loaded on top.
    I have successfully used a twin needle on my Pfaff, which does not have the bobbin located in the front. I used it for my avatar picture. They are great for stitching down the bias tape.

  16. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    619
    We used them years ago when we did Heirloom Sewing on tucks and such. I had an 830 Bernina then and that was in the early 80's.

  17. #17
    Super Member featherweight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Westminster, Co
    Posts
    2,701
    I have a Viking and a Brother. They are both top load bobbins and they both sew with a double needle.

  18. #18
    Super Member AnnaK's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    San Francisco Bay area
    Posts
    1,446
    Blog Entries
    1
    Can someone tell me how one threads a twin needle? I've never used it but have been curious. Do you need two thread sources? And do you take both threads thru all the same channels. If so, how do they not get tangled up in 'the works'? And how does one bobbin take care of 2 stitches. What does the bottom look like? So many questions. A tutorial would be great. Please?

  19. #19
    Power Poster dkabasketlady's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Lakeland, Florida
    Posts
    10,215
    Quote Originally Posted by AnnaK
    Can someone tell me how one threads a twin needle? I've never used it but have been curious. Do you need two thread sources? And do you take both threads thru all the same channels. If so, how do they not get tangled up in 'the works'? And how does one bobbin take care of 2 stitches. What does the bottom look like? So many questions. A tutorial would be great. Please?
    You might want to post your own thread with ALL your questions on it!!! I also have a machine that will use a twin needle, but have never used this feature yet. I'd be interested in a tute also!!

  20. #20
    Super Member dungeonquilter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,027
    Quote Originally Posted by AnnaK
    Can someone tell me how one threads a twin needle? I've never used it but have been curious. Do you need two thread sources? And do you take both threads thru all the same channels. If so, how do they not get tangled up in 'the works'? And how does one bobbin take care of 2 stitches. What does the bottom look like? So many questions. A tutorial would be great. Please?
    Check with your machines instruction book. On mine, I use two spool holders, there are two paths for the thread on the top of the machine, but they both go through the tension disks the same path. Then through separate needles. On the bottom, the bobbin thread kind of looks like a ladder.
    Each machine would be different for threading the top.

  21. #21
    Senior Member stpatmom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Mt. Sterling, Ohio
    Posts
    411
    I have a viking sapphire and while I don't have a twin needle, it does have a setting for it. I was actually looking for a twin needle last weekend as I was joining panels of a tree skirt together and wanted to hide the seam with a thin ribbon. I thougt a twin needle would be the perfect way to get the ribbon sewn down both sides at once! Didn't get to do it that way though as wanted to finish project without running to the store.

  22. #22
    Senior Member CompulsiveQuilter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Knoxville, TN
    Posts
    745
    Can a twin needle be used with a walking foot?

  23. #23
    Power Poster MadQuilter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    ELVERTA, CA
    Posts
    15,178
    Blog Entries
    1
    I have a top load Babylock and one of the classes for the machine includes twin needle work, so that statement is incorrect.

  24. #24
    Super Member Sheila Elaine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Crossville, Alabama
    Posts
    3,422
    MadQuilter, you lost me here, so which statement are you referring to as incorrect? Thanks

  25. #25

    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Central Mn.
    Posts
    412
    I have a Viking SE and a Bernina 730 and can use a twin needle. You use 2 spools of thread and thread both through the machine and then have a thread for both needles. Twin needles come in various widths.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.