Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
which type of applique stitch to use >

which type of applique stitch to use

which type of applique stitch to use

Old 03-04-2017, 08:04 PM

Default which type of applique stitch to use

I am collecting to blocks for the FatCat patterns BOM "Caught Ya" (link below). I would like to start making the blocks now but I am not sure which type of applique stitch would look the best. Could someone look at the pattern and give me their opinion of which to use? Wanted to add that I considered doing needle turn applique, but there are a lot of pieces and I'm not that good at needle turn, so I decided to go w/machine applique instead.

http://www.fatcatpatterns.com/

Thanks,
Jenna
Old 03-04-2017, 08:09 PM

I use the buttonhole stitch for my applique.
Old 03-04-2017, 08:23 PM
Power Poster

I usually use a buttonhole stitch when doing fused applique. You could also use invisible thread and just stitch inside the pieces with a short stitch length. If you used invisible thread, you wouldn't have to change thead colours.
Old 03-05-2017, 03:23 AM
Power Poster

For fusible, machine appliqué I use a small blanket stitch or small zigzag. Try both on a scrap and see which you prefer.
Old 03-05-2017, 04:32 AM

I like to use the blanket stitch as I think it looks the most traditional. I also like to use a technique that Eleanor Burns uses for applique. She uses a light weight fusible interfacing. She stitches the applique piece to the interfacing; cuts a slit in the back of the interfacing; turns the piece right side out; and, fuses it to the background of her picture. Then, she stitches around it. I am not sure what stitch she uses, but it looks very nice. There are so many ways to do this.
Old 03-05-2017, 06:51 AM