Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Using Pillow Forms >

Using Pillow Forms

Using Pillow Forms

Old 09-13-2010, 03:27 PM

Hello all. I could stand a little help with this question. I am a newbie to quilting, and have never made pillows before. I want to make pillows for my friends for Christmas, and will use a 14 x 14 pillow form. My question is this: do you make the material for the sides exactly 14" or do you add a few inches all around? I know this is an easy one for so many of you, and I really do appreciate your help. Thanks!
Old 09-13-2010, 03:33 PM

If you are using a 1/2 inch seam allowance, I would cut them 16". That gives you a little leeway. I don't like them to be tooo snug. If that seems a little loose, then you can take them up a little more. You can make them smaller, but you can't make them bigger.
Old 09-13-2010, 03:36 PM

You will need the seam allowance all the way around your pillow, so if you make a square that is exactly 14"x14" your pillow form will be too big. I prefer to have more than a 1/4" seam allowance on a pillow, as they have a tendancy to get tossed around and not handled gently, especially if there are any children around. You can also make a 12" finished square and add a 1-1/2" sashing/border strip all the way around that will be what is actually going to be what is stitched in the seam at the edge of the pillow using a 1/2" seam. Hope this makes sense!
Old 09-13-2010, 03:47 PM

Thank you so much for all your help and suggestions! I never thought about making a larger seam allowance, but that makes sense! I was thinking about adding a border all around the panel that will be in the center. Thanks again!
Old 09-13-2010, 03:52 PM

almost free,

I work in an interior decorating showroom here in Montreal and one of my task it to oversee the production of decorator pillows for showroom sales.... (and I use this rule for all my own pillow making as well)....