Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 61

Thread: using Retayne in high efficiency washer?

  1. #1
    Junior Member chiaraquilts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    219
    I was wondering if it is possible to use Retayne in a high efficiency washer- since the tub does not fill with water, instead it sprays it periodically...would it be better to soak the fabric in a tub instead, then wash it? Thanks!

  2. #2
    Power Poster Prism99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Western Wisconsin
    Posts
    11,883
    Blog Entries
    1
    I don't know for sure, but I don't think it matters. It is the high temperature of the water that activates the Retayne (I think).

  3. #3
    Power Poster amma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Out searching for some sunshine :-)
    Posts
    59,092
    Blog Entries
    1
    your machine doesn't have a soak cycle? Can you stop the machine after it fills and let it soak?

  4. #4
    Senior Member Rachel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    918
    Oh, I just got a high efficieny and never considered this... ugh. may have to take my new fabrics to the laundry mat.

  5. #5
    Power Poster sueisallaboutquilts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    17,462
    Are you talking about a front-load????

  6. #6
    BMP
    BMP is offline
    Super Member BMP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    2,504
    Blog Entries
    4
    I have a front loader (HATE it) mine does not have a soak if I want to soak anything I have to pause it and set a timer to remind me to go and turn it back on to finish the cycle. If I have to ever buy another machine I will go back to a top loader.

  7. #7
    Cyn
    Cyn is offline
    Super Member Cyn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Jacksonville NC
    Posts
    6,761
    Blog Entries
    17
    Good question.

  8. #8
    Super Member plainjane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    1,811
    Blog Entries
    62
    I'm just eavesdropping......:)

  9. #9
    Super Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Silicon Valley in CA
    Posts
    1,638
    I talked to my daughter about her new front loader. She doesn't like hers either & said she wouldn't buy another one. 1 no soak cycle, 2 if you forgot 1 item, it has to wait for the next load - no opening the door once it starts, 3 she doesn't think it cleans the clothes that good either. About the Retayne, not sure what the answer is.

  10. #10
    Junior Member chiaraquilts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    219
    AHHHHH- mine DOES have a soak cycle, great thought!Thank you. It is a TOP loading high efficiency, and I must say I love love love it, have had it about two years and it really is the best of both worlds- our electricity bill was cut in half since we got the new washer dryer- I know the front loaders have some issues, but seriously no problems with this- you can add garments once the cycle starts, etc.

  11. #11
    Super Member tjradj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    London, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,329
    Blog Entries
    1
    Just my two cents worth - I already hate reaching into my dryer because I'm very tall, the last thing I need is to bend over to put stuff in/out the washer too. Regardless of the pedestal bases, they're still not high enough.
    I'll keep my top loaders too.

  12. #12
    Super Member MaggieLou's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Statesville, NC
    Posts
    1,380
    Sorry, but I have a HE front loader and love it. It has a soak cycle and you can add clothes during the inital wash. It has a light that signals how long you can add clothes. You can also stop or pause it just by pushing the pause button. Never used Retayne so can't speak to that.

  13. #13
    Senior Member MoMoSews's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    767
    I have a Whirlpool Duet HE front loader. Had it for at least 6 years. LOVE IT! It has a soak cycle and cleans my DH dirty factory clothes like a dream. I put the Retayne in the bleach dispenser and it works fine.

  14. #14
    Super Member quiltinghere's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Longarm Quilter NW Indiana
    Posts
    3,489
    Blog Entries
    1
    What's RETAYNE? Is that the color catching sheets? If so, I've used color catching sheets in my front loader and it worked...actually I threw 2 sheets in because it was all red flannel fabrics.

    I LOVE my front loader and I sit on a chair to sort and load it...no straining here! It's extremely efficient with water and detergent and has a soak cycle but I never use it. It has a rinse/spin cycle and I use it A LOT!

  15. #15
    Super Member plainjane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    1,811
    Blog Entries
    62
    I use Retayne - washing/soaking in the kitchen sink. I haven't used it in the HE - but earlier post had really good luck.

    A quote from http://www.prochemicalanddye.com/store/home.php?cat=323
    "Please note: The new front loader energy efficient washing machines do not supply enough water to properly treat your fabrics with Retayne. You will need to use the Hand wash method below or a top loader in your local laundromat."

  16. #16
    Power Poster ckcowl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Northern Michigan
    Posts
    11,167
    Blog Entries
    1
    retayne is NOT color catchers. it is a liquid additive to 'set-color' usually used when hand dyeing fabrics. Total different animal from a color catcher.
    Quote Originally Posted by quiltinghere
    What's RETAYNE? Is that the color catching sheets? If so, I've used color catching sheets in my front loader and it worked...actually I threw 2 sheets in because it was all red flannel fabrics.

    I LOVE my front loader and I sit on a chair to sort and load it...no straining here! It's extremely efficient with water and detergent and has a soak cycle but I never use it. It has a rinse/spin cycle and I use it A LOT!

  17. #17
    Junior Member chiaraquilts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    219
    Quote Originally Posted by plainjane
    I use Retayne - washing/soaking in the kitchen sink. I haven't used it in the HE - but earlier post had really good luck.

    A quote from http://www.prochemicalanddye.com/store/home.php?cat=323
    "Please note: The new front loader energy efficient washing machines do not supply enough water to properly treat your fabrics with Retayne. You will need to use the Hand wash method below or a top loader in your local laundromat."
    Jane, thanks for the definitive answer! I did end up doing it in the sink, worked fine.

  18. #18
    Super Member sewwhat85's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    missouri
    Posts
    6,895
    that is a good question

  19. #19
    Super Member oatw13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    1,748
    Quote Originally Posted by BMP
    I have a front loader (HATE it) mine does not have a soak if I want to soak anything I have to pause it and set a timer to remind me to go and turn it back on to finish the cycle. If I have to ever buy another machine I will go back to a top loader.
    We have a top loader HE washer. It also does not soak like a traditional washer. When it was installed, the appliance repair guy told us that they will no longer be manufacturing the old style washers after the first of the year. The new "water saving" machines will be the only ones made. If you want the old style, buy one quick! lol

    He said the number one complaint for the HE machines is that you cannot soak and that the tub doesn't fill with water.

    Our machine does have a soak option but it doesn't fill with water and you cannot stop it in the soak cycle to let it sit overnight. It is only about 10 minutes and it just sprays water on the clothes and lets it sit. I am not a fan. But, it works and our last one broke. lol So, I like it because it works.

  20. #20
    Senior Member PiecesinMn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    MN
    Posts
    442
    I agree. I hate my front loader, plus it stinks!! Always needing to run a cycle with the unstink stuff. So far I know of three different brands you can buy for this, so they can't tell me this isn't a problem. As soon as I can, it's going out the door.
    Quote Originally Posted by BMP
    I have a front loader (HATE it) mine does not have a soak if I want to soak anything I have to pause it and set a timer to remind me to go and turn it back on to finish the cycle. If I have to ever buy another machine I will go back to a top loader.

  21. #21
    Super Member featherweight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Westminster, Co
    Posts
    2,701
    I love my front loader. If I want to add something, I just push pause and open the door. I would never go back to a top loader. My clothes are sparking clean now. If I have to use Retayne, I will use it in the sink and finish in the washer.

  22. #22
    Super Member OneMoreQuilt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Grant Park, IL
    Posts
    1,166
    I use my laundry tub when using Retayne but have to tell you I love, love, love my HE front loading machines. I do have the pedestals,(I'm tall, got the taller pedestals and will never bend over to do laundry again!!!) a soak cycle and a feature which allows me to add a garment. I can wash rugs, quilts, huge comforters, a ton of towels or jeans at a time etc. Saves a ton of water and electricity. I may never go back.

  23. #23
    Super Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Mason, Ohio
    Posts
    1,337
    Quote Originally Posted by MoMoSews
    I have a Whirlpool Duet HE front loader. Had it for at least 6 years. LOVE IT! It has a soak cycle and cleans my DH dirty factory clothes like a dream. I put the Retayne in the bleach dispenser and it works fine.
    I hadn't thought about the bleach dispenser. Thanks for the tip. I have the Duet also.

  24. #24
    Senior Member skothing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Galloway,Ohio
    Posts
    612
    Blog Entries
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by plainjane
    I use Retayne - washing/soaking in the kitchen sink. I haven't used it in the HE - but earlier post had really good luck.

    A quote from http://www.prochemicalanddye.com/store/home.php?cat=323
    "Please note: The new front loader energy efficient washing machines do not supply enough water to properly treat your fabrics with Retayne. You will need to use the Hand wash method below or a top loader in your local laundromat."
    Thanks so much . I purchased 5 yards of whale corduroy washed it 8 times only to find it still bleed. Used Retayne still bleed. Now I know it was the HE washer. I was going nuts. $1200 washer that can wash corduroy. :thumbdown:

  25. #25
    Senior Member DoxieMom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    546
    I sure agree with you on this one! I really dislike my HE front loader!! I got it for all the right reasons--uses less water, supposed to be gentle on clothes and better for septic system--but I miss being able to do small loads, soak things, dye/re-dye fabric, etc. And if I load it and add soap but delay in turning it on, the soap drips down through the door. On top of all that, you have to run a special cycle to clean the machine once a month to keep it from smelling. (How ridiculous is that to have to wash the interior of a washing machine...) I'd take my top loader back in a heartbeat...

    Quote Originally Posted by BMP
    I have a front loader (HATE it) mine does not have a soak if I want to soak anything I have to pause it and set a timer to remind me to go and turn it back on to finish the cycle. If I have to ever buy another machine I will go back to a top loader.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.