Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Using strips for borders >

Using strips for borders

Using strips for borders

Old 01-09-2018, 10:17 AM
  #11  
Super Member
 
ArtsyOne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Canadian in Minnesota
Posts: 3,078
Default

I've come across this same issue recently and decided to go with the pattern rather than the grain as one of the previous posters suggested. Mitering the corners really looks great with a stripe.
ArtsyOne is offline  
Old 01-09-2018, 10:41 AM
  #12  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Central Willamette Valley, Oregon, USA
Posts: 7,686
Default

Originally Posted by Tartan View Post
If the stripes are large, I would cut with the stripe and ignore the grain line. If it is a fine strip, you could cut with the grain as it will be less noticable. Personally, I would go for the look over the grain line.
Yup, just starch it to within an inch of its life first.
madamekelly is offline  
Old 01-09-2018, 10:43 AM
  #13  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Abbotsford, BC
Posts: 640
Default

My favorite striped (or is that stripped?) bindings are ones I cut on the bias.
MamaLinda is offline  
Old 01-09-2018, 03:26 PM
  #14  
Super Member
 
lawsonmugs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: missouri
Posts: 9,694
Default

Maybe cut it diagonally?
lawsonmugs is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
justflyingin
Pictures
23
11-25-2014 12:42 PM
craftybear
Links and Resources
1
08-10-2011 12:37 PM
wildyard
Main
104
02-10-2011 09:32 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


FREE Quilting Newsletter


SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.