Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Very basic question 1 - how do you use a seam ripper? >

Very basic question 1 - how do you use a seam ripper?

Very basic question 1 - how do you use a seam ripper?

Old 06-07-2014, 04:24 AM

Default Very basic question 1 - how do you use a seam ripper?

Yes, you read that question correctly. I've been quilting for about 10 years and someone has just told me of a different way to use my seam ripper from the one I was taught! I was told to go along the row of stitches and cut about every 3rd stitch. The thread on the other side then comes away, and the cut threads can be picked out. But the method I've just had described to me is to insert the seam ripper between the two layers of fabric and push it gently through the stitches. The end with the little ball on it separates the fabric and stops you cutting through it. I've been trying this method this morning. It is very quick - but - it's still easy to put the pointed end through your fabric and cut it. Opinions please!
Old 06-07-2014, 04:42 AM
Power Poster

I cut the top seam about every five stitches. Then just pull the bobbin thread, it should come out nicely. If one side of the block is going to be discarded, I make sure I cut the threads on that side, then I don't have to pick the small bits of thread that are leftover.
Old 06-07-2014, 04:43 AM

Depending on how much ripping...I have done it both ways.....have also done it with a rotary cutter....EB showed that on her tv program once awhile back....like I said depends on how long a seam and what mood I'm in.....
Old 06-07-2014, 04:46 AM

Originally Posted by Geri B View Post
Depending on how much ripping...I have done it both ways.....have also done it with a rotary cutter....EB showed that on her tv program once awhile back....like I said depends on how long a seam and what mood I'm in.....
Same for me!
Old 06-07-2014, 04:53 AM

I have done it both ways, too. Sometimes it depends on how sharp my seam ripper is.