Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast

Thread: VERY user friendly machine

VERY user friendly machine

Hi, I know (or at least hope) that I will get a lot of opinions, however, that is what I am looking for. Currently I own a Bernina 640 but I am not finding it very user friendly. It might be because I am a slow learner or that I never got my classes but for whatever reason I'm not sure that it is the machine for me. I had the opportunity to watch a friend using her Viking Diamond and everything about it seemed like a breeze. My question is: what machine is recommend for someone who is not THAT experienced and is mostly self taught with just a few classes under her belt. Really want to progress in skill level and number of quilts made. Thanks for any and all feedback.

Power Poster
    I love my Bernina 440 and I took the free lessons. I also have Bernina club at the shop I bought it from that teaches a free technique every month. Buy a machine from a reputable shop that offers free lessons and lots of support.

I found the Janome 6600 to be very intuitive. The instruction book if you need it is short and sweet.
    I have chosen to be happy because it is good for my health - Voltaire

SSK
    I just bought a Bernina 710 and am also having difficulties with it. I have had two demonstrations and one class so far. So easy at the store and get it home and it seems I get a block. I know I can do it, I figure if millions of other people can do it so can I. I am pretty good with the computer and taught myself to quilt so a little sewing machine computer isn't going to get me. I will keep with the lessons and hopefully.....