Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Wadding/Batting as outer layer >

Wadding/Batting as outer layer

Wadding/Batting as outer layer

Old 07-09-2014, 05:11 AM

Default Wadding/Batting as outer layer

Hi there,
First of all, apologies if I am posting in the wrong place - I am a newbie to this forum and to quilting I have made one quilt so far and am now planning a second, however I have a question - I have searched and Googled to no avail and am now hoping someone on here might be able to respond...

I want to make a quilt with a fabric backing (same fabric) and appliqué directly onto the wadding/batting as the top layer of the quilt. So the wadding would be exposed. I am using Warm & White batting.

Can anyone tell me if this will work? Having the batting mostly exposed, with only some small fabric shapes appliquéd directly on to it?

Any help appreciated!
Old 07-09-2014, 05:17 AM

Why would you want the batting to be exposed?
Old 07-09-2014, 05:19 AM

So I guess that answers the question then! It was just a question of whether it's possible (if it would look scruffy or unfinished) or why can't it be exposed? I suppose I was just trying to think of different ways to make a quilt.

Thank you for your response nabobw!
Old 07-09-2014, 05:22 AM
Power Poster

I have washed a piece of "naked" warm and natural batting twice - and it looked fine after the washings.

You could take a small piece of it and wash it several times and see what it does. I don't think it is designed for a lot of abrasion like the outer fabrics of a quilt frequently get - but I dont' know the answer.

You could also baste a small piece of it on to a quilt or blanket that you use frequently and see what happens.

Bottom line - I really don't know the answer to your question.
Old 07-09-2014, 05:23 AM

Batting is not constructed to be exposed....it is supposed to be encased in fabric......I would think maybe a fleecy type material would give you the " look" you want........
Old 07-09-2014, 05:28 AM