Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Thread: Well, duh....

Well, duh....

Well, I've been sewing for about 45 years now - quilting for about 7. With all those years experience, you'd think I would remember to clean out my machine and replace the needle once in a while. I was having difficulty while doing some applique this afternoon, and then it hit me..... get rid of the lint and replace the needle... DUH!!
    -Chris-
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Blessed are the children of quilters, for they shall inherit the quilts....

It does not do well, Harry, to dwell on the dreams....and forget to live. - Albus Dumbledore

QM
    I think that happens to everyone who isn't absolutely compulsive....at one time or another.

Color me compulsive, I guess. I am very faithful to clean my machines, and change needles. I have learned most problems people have are thread, needles, or lint build up.

Quote Originally Posted by QM View Post
    I think that happens to everyone who isn't absolutely compulsive....at one time or another.
    I Agree with you. It truly is amazaing what difficulties a little lint and dull needle will cause.
    SUEB

I have the same problem, only with rotary blades. I will keep cutting with a dull blade, complaining mentally, until it hits me...."Time for a new blade." Sure makes a big difference!!

Dina

Count me in. I finally cleaned my "go to" machine - forgetting that the previous year I made a chenille and flannel quilt! The poor little thing never even quivered but imagine how much better it must have felt with all that garbage removed! I don't usually change a needle til it breaks.

Quote Originally Posted by Stitchnripper View Post
    ... I don't usually change a needle til it breaks.
    Same here!!