Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 4 1 2 ... LastLast

Thread: What chair do you use at your sewing machine?

I have a regular office chair with wheels that I use at my sewing machine. It allows me to scoot back and forth across my long sewing table.

However, the chair is kind of uncomfortable, and I'm thinking of getting a new chair.

What kind of chair do you have? Do you have a recommendation for a specific brand or kind of chair? What works for you?

Thanks for your advice!

Look for an office chair that has lumbar support...

I have an office chair with lumbar support, on casters, high back with lots of extra squishie in the cushion can sew for hrs with no problems (with body only, sewing is another topic)

i use a drafting chair.

it allows me to lower it for piecing at my sewing table and to raise it to frame quilting height.

this way i can sit at my quilting frame for all the detailing work.

An extra kitchen chair lol, I would love to have a rolling chair though.

Blog Entries
    office chair with lumbar support on wheels

Me too. Go to an office supply store and try out a few. I have arms on mine but some prefer without arms Some people like softer seats, some harder, find one that seems to fit you and is comfortable.
    Quote Originally Posted by craftybear
    office chair with lumbar support on wheels

I have an office chair I picked up for $10 at a resale shop. I has a seat height adjustment and a back adjustment, so I can get it to set just right for my back to be comfortable. I find I have to adjust it a couple times when I'm sewing as my back starts to squawk.