Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
What to do with this machine. >

What to do with this machine.

What to do with this machine.

Old 11-08-2019, 10:38 PM
  #1  
Super Member
Thread Starter
 
quiltlady1941's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Illinios
Posts: 1,260
Default What to do with this machine.

I bought a Brother innov'is VQ2400 new in 2015, it has been a great machine and used it a lot. All of a sudden the stitches were not coming out right, on all the stitches! I took it to the Brother dealer and show them a sample how it was stitching out. I also wanted them to clean it and service the machine.I got it back and it was still sewing the same way. There sample they did was perfect.mine were bad.....I took it back and the lady there had me sit down and sew, she had me thread the machine the bobbin to make sure I was doing it right. we changed thread to Gutermann's. Would you believe it sewed out perfect at the store .I took it home and it sewed the same way as before bad stitches.
I took it in again now this is the 3rd time this machine has been back and forth, stitching fine at the store and bad at home.
This time when i took it in with my sample of how it was stitching and Wow it finally acted up there and stitch bad at the store so they could see what I was talking about.

The repair man call a week later and told me he was waiting for a part and it should be ready to go home in a week.Got the call today to come and pick up the machine, I was so excited to finally get it home. The sample they did was perfect.I got it home and tried it and it's doing the same bad stitches as before. Again there sample was great looking. I called and they didn't know what to tell me to do, so they told me to bring it back tomorrow.I just don't know why it sews great at the store all but the one time but when I get it home it sews terrible. I guess I'll see what they say tomorrow. I am so disgusted with this machine. I paid $2926.56 in 2015 for this machine and I just want to sew with it and have good stitches..What would you do? keep taking it back or get rid of it..Sorry this is so long Thanks for your help..
quiltlady1941 is offline  
Old 11-08-2019, 11:47 PM
  #2  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 196
Default

I have a very basic machine, so I am probably way off base, but I love solving a mystery! Have you downloaded anything that might have had a virus attached to it? I know you said it acted up once at the shop, so it sounds like it is in the machine itself, but have you tried plugging it in someplace in your home other than your sewing area and sewing with it? Maybe there is something in your sewing room that is interfering with the computer, or maybe it's the electrical outlet so you aren't getting steady current? Just a thought.
SueZQ from MN is offline  
Old 11-08-2019, 11:51 PM
  #3  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 2,035
Default

How frustrating!!! Hope they can figure it out.
Darcyshannon is offline  
Old 11-09-2019, 12:56 AM
  #4  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Philomath, Oregon
Posts: 2,015
Default

What a mystery! Frustrating that it doesn’t act up at the store except that once. What did they say the problem was that time?
PamelaOry is offline  
Old 11-09-2019, 05:15 AM
  #5  
Power Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Southern USA
Posts: 12,360
Default

I know how you feel. By now the dealer and repair guy probably think you are one of the 'eye rolling here she comes' customers. LOL I had a machine that would not sew at all at guild sew day. It sewed perfectly at home. Same thread, needle and settings. It drove me nuts. I never did find the cause. DH said it may have something to do with the plug at the sewing room. There has to be an explanation for your machine.
Onebyone is offline  
Old 11-09-2019, 05:21 AM
  #6  
Power Poster
 
SusieQOH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Central Ohio
Posts: 11,675
Default

Originally Posted by PamelaOry View Post
What a mystery! Frustrating that it doesn’t act up at the store except that once. What did they say the problem was that time?
I'm wondering the same thing. How frustrating for you! I certainly would think there is a solution to a machine only 4 years old.
SusieQOH is offline  
Old 11-09-2019, 05:21 AM
  #7  
Super Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Sunny Florida
Posts: 3,496
Default

Are you using the same power cord and foot pedal at home? Change location of the power outlet.

Did you try a pre-wound bobbin in your machine? They are always wound better. Check to make sure you have the right bobbin case and correct bobbin. There is a case for bobbin work that may have come with your machine accessories. Did it get switched for the regular one?

Do you have a preference page on your machine? Check that all settings are in the default setting first.

Are you using straight stitches or decorative stitches?

Are the feed dogs set for sewing or FMQ?

Does your machine have all the "updates" installed? The dealer should be able to tell you the latest update. It should be on the machine site for support. These are free to download and install. You can check your version on the preference page on your machine.

You mentioned thread. What type of spool is the thread?

Such a puzzle. Can you post pictures of good/bad stitches?
Rhonda K is offline  
Old 11-09-2019, 08:19 AM
  #8  
Super Member
Thread Starter
 
quiltlady1941's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Illinios
Posts: 1,260
Default

Hi SueZQ from MN ...Yes I tried plugging and sewing on this machine in all the other rooms in the house. I also thought maybe something was going on with the plugs in my sewing room. but everything was the same in all the other rooms. Thanks
quiltlady1941 is offline  
Old 11-09-2019, 08:24 AM
  #9  
Super Member
Thread Starter
 
quiltlady1941's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Illinios
Posts: 1,260
Default

Onebyone.....I'm sure they think i am nuts, I did try the machine in all the other rooms and it was the same. Also I have had this machine for three years and it always sewed great till a few months ago. I'll be taking it back in a one o'clock today, All I can hope for is it acts up there so they don't think I really am crazy. What did you do with your machine?
quiltlady1941 is offline  
Old 11-09-2019, 08:26 AM
  #10  
Super Member
Thread Starter
 
quiltlady1941's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Illinios
Posts: 1,260
Default

SusieQOH they changed a sensor that cost a big $8.00.. When they told me that what was wrong I was so excited till i got home and tried it, I could cry..
quiltlady1941 is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


FREE Quilting Newsletter


SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.