Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 5 1 2 ... LastLast

Thread: What makes the featherweights such an awesome find?

Senior Member Cheshirecatquilter's Avatar
    I'm relatively new to this particular craft, though I've been sewing for 51 years. I am curious why there is such enthusiasm over finding an older Singer featherweight sewing machine. What makes them so special, other than they are not made with the stupid plastic parts that so many modern machines are made of?

I like Featherweights because they are not made with stupid plastic parts, are easy to carry to class, sew a perfect straight line, and are too cool!

Welcome to the board from Southern California!!!

I don't have a featherweight, am not lookin for one, however if I was given one I would probably keep it.

It's small, it's cute, it sews a beautiful straight seam, it's easy to take care of, and it's nice to take with you when you aren't sewing at home.

Welcome from Central California :)

All of the above.

Welcome aboard! Some of us just really like vintage machines. The Featherweight is just one of the ones that's really, really cute. It's the quilter's equivalent of owning a vintage car.

Power Poster sueisallaboutquilts's Avatar
    I'm going to NY in August to visit my Mom. I'm bringing her some pajamas I made for her and can hem them if I need to or adjust the waist etc with my little Featherweight.
    Besides the "featherweight" feature they are well made and beautiful!! My husband and I love antiques and he wishes I would leave it out but I keep it in the case. Too many cats who own us :D

Banned
    There's plastic and then there's plastic. Some of today's plastics will outlive and out perform metal. Not all sewing machines are created equally either.

Hello and welcome from Ontario.